From Garden to Canvas: Watch plein-air artists create masterful works, and get inspired to create your own.

Established plein-air artists spread out across the Garden grounds in a public display of talent and technique. Watch them in action throughout the day using various media, from oils to watercolor to pen and ink. Finished art will be made available for purchase by the individual artists on their websites.

Featured Artists

More than 20 established plein-air artists spread out across the Garden grounds in a public display of talent and technique. See how they capture recognizable Garden scenes in a new light. Finished art is available for purchase from the individual artists on their websites.

Participating Artists

Garin Baker, garinbaker.com
Ricky Mujica, rickymujica.com
Armand Cabrera, armandcabrera.com
Shari Blaukopf, blaukopfwatercolours.com
Stewart White, stewartwhitestudios.com
Brad Marshall, bradmarshallart.com
James Gurney, gurneyjourney.blogspot.com
James Coe, jamescoe.com
Eleinne Bassa, eleinnebasafineart.com
Denise Dumont, denisedumont.com
Lisa Egeli, lisaegeli.com
Zufar Bikbov, zufar.com
Christ Magadini, chrismagadini.com
Mike Budden, michaelbudden.com
Valerie Craig, valeriecraig.com
Hiu Lai Chong, hiulaichong.com
Paul Bachem, paulbachem.com
Lois Woolley, loiswoolley.com
Hongnian Zhang, zhanghongnian.com
Janice Kirsh, janicekirsh.com
Frank Guida, frankguidaart.com
Elissa Gore, elissagore.net
And more!

 

Plein-Air Drop-In and Draw

12–3 p.m.
In the Conservatory Vicinity

Everyone is an artist! Draw inspiration from the Garden as a true plein-air artist. Drop in, grab a stool and some materials, and create an image of the Garden to take home! Instructors offer guidance every half-hour.

Lessons with an artist instructor will vary by location.

Pastels–In the Conservatory Courtyard by Waterlily Pools
Watercolor–In the Perennial Garden and along Seasonal Border/Home Gardening Center
No stools allowed inside the Conservatory

Guided Tours

Forest Tour

12:30 p.m.
Meet at the Reflecting Pool at the Leon Levy Visitor Center

Experience the beauty of the Garden's 50-acre Thain Family Forest on this one-hour walking tour with an expertly trained Guide. You'll learn facts about the trees, history, geology, and ecology of this original, uncut woodland.

Native Plant Garden Tour

2:30 p.m.
Meet at the Reflecting Pool at the Leon Levy Visitor Center

Join a tour guide for an insider's view of the Native Plant Garden. Enjoy a mosaic of nearly 100,000 native trees, wildflowers, ferns, and grasses designed to flourish in every season.