Science Staff at The New York Botanical Garden

The Science Division of The New York Botanical Garden encompasses several departments and programs and includes more than one hundred Ph.D.-level faculty members, post-doctoral researchers, graduate students, and highly trained technical staff. All are working toward the Garden’s scientific mission to explore, understand, and conserve the Earth’s vast botanical diversity.

Meet the Scientists

Full Staff Directory

Staff Scientists


Ambrose, Barbara
bambrose@nybg.org

Specialty: Plant genomics, morphology and development

Current Research Projects: Evolution and Development in Lycophytes and Ferns
Fruit Evolution and Development
Transforming Selaginella apoda into a Major Model Species

Balick, Michael
mbalick@nybg.org

Specialty: Ethnobotany, Poison Plants, Pacific Island Floristics

Current Research Projects: Belize Ethnobotany Project
Plants and People of Micronesia
Plants and People of Vanuatu

Boom, Brian
bboom@nybg.org

Specialty: Neotropical systematic and economic botany; Rubiaceae; forest inventories

Current Research Projects: Digitization of Caribbean Plants and Fungi in The New York Botanical Garden Herbarium
Identifying Cuba’s Most Vulnerable Plant Species in the Face of Climate Change and Habitat Loss
New York City EcoFlora
Strategy for Conserving Ash Trees in the Northeast: Collection, Analysis, and Outreach

Buck, William
bbuck@nybg.org

Specialty: Pleurocarpus mosses

Current Research Projects: Bryoflora of Cape Horn Archipelago
North American Lichens and Bryophytes: Sensitive Indicators of Environmental Quality and Change

Campbell, Lisa
lcampbell@nybg,org

Specialty: Systematics; Anatomy of Xyridaceae

Current Research Projects: Natural History Collections: Developing Ericaceae Research Resources through Collections Enhancement and Data Integration

Daly, Douglas
ddaly@nybg.org

Specialty: Burseraceae (frankincense family)

Current Research Projects: Applications of Leaf Architecture in Systematics and Forest Management
Floristic Exploration in Southeast Asia
Floristic Exploration in Southwestern Amazonia
On the Andaquí Trail: Exploration and Conservation of Colombia's Eastern Andean Piedmont
Professional Woodsmen for Managed Forests in Amazonian Brazil
Systematic Studies of the Burseraceae

Halling, Roy
rhalling@nybg.org

Specialty: Agaricales and Boletales (mushrooms, puffballs and related groups)

Current Research Projects: Bolete Mushrooms Surveys and Revisions
Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation
The Macrofungi Collection Consortium: Unlocking a Biodiversity Resource for Understanding Biotic Interactions, Nutrient Cycling and Human Affairs
Macrofungi of Costa Rica

Henderson, Andrew
ahenderson@nybg.org

Specialty: Arecaeae (Palm family)

Current Research Projects: Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation
Revision of Calamus
Palms of Vietnam

Holmgren, Noel
nholmgren@nybg.org

Specialty: Intermountain Flora; Scrophulariaceae (Beard Tongue family)


Holmgren, Patricia
pholmgren@nybg.org

Specialty: Intermountain Flora


Karol, Kenneth
kkarol@nybg.org

Specialty: Green Algal Systematics and Evolution (Charales)

Current Research Projects: Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation
The Green Algae Tree of Life
The Macroalgal Herbarium Consortium: Accessing 150 Years of Specimen Data to Understand Changes in the Marine/Aquatic Environment
Phylogeny and Systematics of the Characeae
Starry Stonewort: Assessing the Threat of an Invasive Freshwater Macroalga in the Northeast

Kelly, Lawrence
lkelly@nybg.org

Specialty: Aristolochiaceae (Birthwort family), Symplocaceae (Sweetleaf family), Saurauia (Actinidiaceae; Kiwi family)

Current Research Projects: Systematics of Symplocos

Lendemer, James
jlendemer@nybg.org

Specialty: Lichen Systematics

Current Research Projects: Biodiversity Gradients in Obligate Symbiotic Organisms: A Case Study in Lichens in a Global Diversity Hotspot (NSF Dimensions)
Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation
Lichen Biodiversity of the Mid-Atlantic Coastal Plain

Little, Damon
dlittle@nybg.org

Specialty: Gymnosperms and Bioinformatics

Current Research Projects: DNA Barcoding of Dietary Supplements
Monographia: Open-Source Software to Automate Revisionary Systematic Studies

Michelangeli, Fabian
fabian@nybg.org

Specialty: Melastomataceae

Current Research Projects: A New Era: Cuban/U.S. Collaboration in Biodiversity Science
Assessing Phylogeny and Biogeography in a Megadiverse Tropical Plant Family (Melastomataceae)
Dimensions US-BIOTA-São Paulo: A Multidisciplinary Framework for Biodiversity Prediction in the Brazilian Atlantic Forest Hotspot
Evolution of Functional Traits in the Melastomataceae
PBI: A Complete Web-based Monograph of the Tribe Miconieae (Melastomataceae)

Mickel, John
jmickel@nybg.org

Specialty: Pteridophytes (Ferns and related groups)


Moran, Robbin
rmoran@nybg.org

Specialty: Pteridophytes (Ferns and related groups)

Current Research Projects: Monographic and Phylogenetic Studies of Elaphoglossum (Dryopteridaceae)
Phylogeny of Non-flowering Plants
Taxonomic Revision and Phylogenetic Study of Campyloneurum (Polypodiaceae)

Mori, Scott
smori@nybg.org

Specialty: Systematics and ecology of Lecythidaceae and neotropical floristics.

Current Research Projects: Assembly and Evolution of the Amazonian Biota and its Environment: An Integrated Approach
Systematics and Ecology of the Brazil Nut Family (Lecythidaceae)
Westchester Wilderness Walk, Zofnass Family Preserve

Naczi, Robert
rnaczi@nybg.org

Specialty: Floristics of eastern North America, Systematics and ecology of Cyperaceae, Systematics and ecology of Sarraceniaceae

Current Research Projects: Collaborative Research: Plants, Herbivores, and Parasitoids: A Model System for the Study of Tri-Trophic Associations
Conservation Assessment of Intertidal Vascular Plants of the Hudson River Estuary
The New Manual of Vascular Plants Project by NYBG
Westchester Wilderness Walk, Zofnass Family Preserve

Pace, Matthew
mpace@nybg.org

Specialty: New World Orchidaceae, especially Spiranthes, Platanthera, and Lepanthes; New World plant biogeography; citizen scientist inclusive orchid conservation


Peters, Charles
cpeters@nybg.org

Specialty: Tropical forestry and ecology

Current Research Projects: Community-based Natural Resource Management in Sagaing Region, Myanmar

Plunkett, Gregory
gplunkett@nybg.org

Specialty: Araliaceae, Apiaceae, Pittosporaceae

Current Research Projects: Plants and People of Vanuatu
Strategy for Conserving Ash Trees in the Northeast: Collection, Analysis, and Outreach
Tackling Schefflera: Initiating the Re-circumscription of the Largest Genus in Araliaceae (ginseng family)

Stevenson, Dennis
dws@nybg.org

Specialty: Cycadales (Cycads)

Current Research Projects: Collaborative Research: AVATOL - Next Generation Phenomics for the Tree of Life
cROP: Common Reference Ontologies and Applications for Plant Biology
EvoNet: A Phylogenomic and Systems Biology Approach to Identify Genes Underlying Plant Survival in Marginal, Low-Nitrogen Soils
Genomics of Comparative Seed Evolution
Phylogeography and Conservation Genetics of the Caribbean Zamia clade
1000 Plants Initiative

Thiers, Barbara
bthiers@nybg.org

Specialty: Hepaticae (Liverworts)

Current Research Projects: Assembly and evolution of the Amazonian biota and its environment: an integrated approach
Digitization of Caribbean Plants and Fungi in The New York Botanical Garden Herbarium
Documenting the Occurrence through Space and Time of Aquatic Non-indigenous Fish, Mollusks, Algae, and Plants Threatening North America's Great Lakes
Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation
The Macrofungi Collection Consortium: Unlocking a Biodiversity Resource for Understanding Biotic Interactions, Nutrient Cycling and Human Affairs
Partnership to the Existing New England Vascular Plant Network for Collections at the New York Botanical Garden
World Flora Online

Thomas, William
wthomas@nybg.org

Specialty: Cyperaceae (Sedge family), Simaroubaceae (Tree of Heaven family, and Picramniaceae (Bitter-bush Family) Flora and conservation of the Atlantic forest of northeastern Brazil

Current Research Projects: Coastal Forest Plant Diversity in Northeastern Brazil
Dimensions US-BIOTA-São Paulo: A Multidisciplinary Framework for Biodiversity Prediction in the Brazilian Atlantic Forest Hotspot
Molecular-based Plant inventory of a Megadiverse Bahian Forest
Plant Diversity in the Montane Forest of Pernambuco
Systematics of Rhynchospora (Cyperaceae)
World Flora Online

Torke, Benjamin
btorke@nybg.org

Specialty: Leguminosae (bean family); floristics and species diversity in Amazonia

Current Research Projects: Floristic Inventory of the Tapajos National Forest and Amazonia National Park
Legume Research at The New York Botanical Garden
Phylogenetics and taxonomy of Ormosia
A Systematic Monograph of Swartzia

Vandebroek, Ina
ivandebroek@nybg.org

Specialty: Floristics and ethnobotany of useful plants and community health in the Caribbean and New York City

Current Research Projects: Improving Health Care for Underserved Immigrant Caribbean and Latino Communities in New York City
Comparative Exploration of Plants and Local Knowledge in Portland Parish, Jamaica
Cultural Competency Training Program for Health Care Providers


Back to Top

Research Associates


Abbott, J. Richard


Specialty: Systematics of Polygalaceae; Flora of the Northeast

Current Research Projects: The New Manual of Vascular Plants Project by NYBG

Armstrong, Kathleen
karmstrong@nybg.org

Specialty: Sytematics and biogeography of Sapotaceae and Cordiaceae; SE Asian floristics

Current Research Projects: Floristic Inventory of a Neglected Biodiversity Hotspot: Myanmar's Northern Forest Complex
Plant Conservation and Forest Resource Management in Myanmar

Atha, Daniel
datha@nybg.org

Specialty: flora of Belize; flora of the Caucasus; flora of North America; Acalypha subgenus Linostachys; Polygonaceae, esp. Persicaria.

Current Research Projects: Flora of Central Park
Incised Fumewort in Westchester County: Early Detection and Rapid Response
New York City EcoFlora
Strategy for Conserving Ash Trees in the Northeast: Collection, Analysis, and Outreach

Harris, Richard
rharris@nybg.org

Specialty: Lichens


Jimenez-Mejias, Pedro
pjimenez-mejias@nybg.org

Specialty: Systematics of Carex; Flora of the Northeast

Current Research Projects: The New Manual of Vascular Plants Project by NYBG

Kallunki, Jacquelyn
jkallunki@nybg.org

Specialty: Rutaceae (Orange family)


Law, Wayne
wlaw@nybg.org

Specialty: Ethnobotany; Ecology


Mitchell, John
jmitchell@nybg.org

Specialty: Anacardiaceae


Pedraza, Paola
ppedraza at nybg.org; paola.pedraza at gmail.com

Specialty: Systematics of Ericaceae

Current Research Projects: Flora of Las Orquídeas National Park

Reginato, Marcelo
mreginato@nybg.org

Specialty: Systematics of Melastomataceae


Sewell, Matthew
msewell@nybg.org


Sinn, Brandon
bsinn@nybg.org

Specialty: Systematics of Asarum (Aristolochiaceae)

Current Research Projects: cROP: Common Reference Ontologies and Applications for Plant Biology

Zanoni, Thomas
tzanoni@nybg.org

Specialty: Gymnosperms



Back to Top

Graduate Students


Allen, Jessica
jallen@nybg.org

Specialty: Lichen systematics

Current Research Projects: Lichen Conservation Biology

Cannon, Brandi
bcc2145@columbia.edu

Specialty: Parasitic plants, conservation, ex-situ propagation, in-situ restoration

Current Research Projects: Disturbance ecology and its overall influence on the conservation of Schwalbea americana (Orobanchaceae)

Davoodian, Naveed
ndavoodian@nybg.org

Specialty: Mycology, Phylogenetics, Conservation

Current Research Projects: Systematics of Gyroporus (Boletales)

Dorey, Jenna
jdorey@nybg.org

Specialty: Systematics of Carex (Cyperaceae)

Current Research Projects: Systematics and Biogeography of the Woodland Sedges Carex section Laxiflorae (Cyperaceae)

Duguid, Marlyse
marlyse.duguid@gmail.com

Specialty: Disturbance ecology


Gavrutenko, Maria
gavrucent@gmail.com

Specialty: Reproductive biology of Melastomataceae


Gottschalk, Stephen
sgottschalk@nybg.org

Specialty: Systematics and ecology of green algae


Hawken, Iona
iona.hawken@yale.edu

Specialty: Urbanization, Land-Use, and Landscape Transformation in Amazonia


Hoffman, Jordan
jhoffman@nybg.org

Specialty: Lichen Systematics


James, Thomas
thomas.james@yale.edu

Specialty: Forest ecology


Jones, Lance
ljones@nybg.org

Specialty: Moss systematics


Keleman, Alder
Alder.keleman@yale.edu

Specialty: Forestry and environmental studies


Lim, Gwynne
gsl47@cornell.edu

Specialty: Plant Systematics


Martin, Meredith
meredith.martin@yale.edu

Specialty: Forest management and succession


Morcol, Taylan
tmorcol@nybg.org

Specialty: Ethnobotany


Rodrigues, Carlos
crodrigues@nybg.org

Specialty: Systematics of Araliaceae


Schmiege, Stephanie
sschmiege@gmail.com

Specialty: Physiology of drought stress in tropical trees


Sleith, Robin
rsleith@nybg.org

Specialty: Systematics, ecology, and evolution of freshwater green algae

Current Research Projects: Starry Stonewort: Assessing the Threat of an Invasive Freshwater Macroalga in the Northeast

Truong, Lan
truong.lan@gmail.com

Specialty: Ethnobotany


Young, Katherine
katherine.young@yale.edu

Specialty: Agroforestry and ethnobotany


Zeng, Lily
lily.zeng@yale.edu

Specialty: Biodiversity conservation, sacred landscapes, ethnic minorities


Zumajo, Cecilia
czumajo@nybg.org

Specialty: Evolutionary developmental biology; Plant Genomics



Back to Top

Full Staff Directory