Center for Conservation Strategy: Staff

Core Staff

Dedicated CCS scientists:

Brian Boom, Ph.D.
  Vice President for Conservation Strategy; Director, NYBG Press and Science Outreach
  bboom@nybg.org

Daniel Atha
  Conservation Program Manager
  datha@nybg.org

Meryl Rubin
  Research Assistant
  mrubin@nybg.org

Affiliated Scientists

NYBG staff and adjunct scientists who participate in CCS research projects:

Richard Abbott
  Research Assistant, Institute of Systematic Botany
  rabbott@nybg.org

Jessica Allen
  Graduate Student
  City University of New York
  jallen@nybg.org

Regina Alvarez, Ph.D.
  Adjunct Scientist
  Central Park Conservancy

Kathleen Armstrong, Ph.D.
  Post Doctoral Research Associate, Institute of Systematic Botany
  karmstrong@nybg.org

Michael Balick, Ph.D.
  Vice President for Botanical Research, Senior Philecology Curator of Economic Botany, and Director of the Institute of Economic Botany
  mbalick@nybg.org

Bill Buck, Ph.D.
  Mary Flagler Cary Senior Curator of Botanical Science, Institute of Systematic Botany
  bbuck@nybg.org

Lisa Campbell, Ph.D.
  Administrative Curator II, Structural Botany
  lcampbell@nybg.org

Douglas Daly, Ph.D.
  B. A. Krukoff Curator of Amazonian Botany and Director, Institute of Systematic Botany
  ddaly@nybg.org

Jenna Dorey
  Graduate Student
  City University of New York
  jdorey@nybg.org

Roy Halling, Ph.D.
  Curator of Mycology, Institute of Systematic Botany
  rhalling@nybg.org

Andrew Henderson, Ph.D.
  Abess Curator of Palms, Institute of Systematic Botany
  ahenderson@nybg.org

Kenneth Karol, Ph.D.
  Associate Curator, Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics Studies
  kkarol@nybg.org

James Lendemer, Ph.D.
  Assistant Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
  jlendemer@nybg.org

Fabian Michelangeli, Ph.D.
  Associate Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
  fabian@nybg.org

Scott Mori, Ph.D.
  Curator Emeritus
  The New York Botanical Garden
  smori@nybg.org

Robert Naczi, Ph.D.
  Arthur J. Cronquist Curator of North American Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany
  rnaczi@nybg.org

Charles Peters, Ph.D.
  Kate E. Tode Curator of Economic Botany, Institute of Economic Botany
  cpeters@nybg.org

Gregory Plunkett, Ph.D.
  Director and Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Curator of Molecular Systematics Studies
  gplunkett@nybg.org

Jessica Arcate Schuler
  Horticulture and Living Collections, NYBG
  jarcate@nybg.org

Robin Sleith
  Graduate Student
  City University of New York
  rsleith@nybg.org

Dennis Stevenson, Ph.D.
  Vice President for Botanical Research and Senior Curator
  dws@nybg.org

Barbara Thiers, Ph.D.
  Patricia K. Holmgren Director, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium and Vice President of Science Administration
  bthiers@nybg.org

Wayt Thomas, Ph.D.
  Elizabeth G. Britton Curator of Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany
  wthomas@nybg.org

Ben Torke, Ph.D.
  Associate Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
  btorke@nybg.org

Melissa Tulig
  Director of Biodiversity Information Management, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
  mtulig@nybg.org

Ina Vandebroek, Ph.D.
  Matthew Calbraith Perry Assistant Curator of Economic Botany, Institute of Economic Botany
  ivandebroek@nybg.org

Plant Research and Conservation Advisory Council

A committee of the Board of Trustees, the Advisory Council provides feedback and guidance to NYBG’s Science and Conservation programs.

Edward P. Bass
  Honorary Chair

George P. Milne, Jr., Ph.D
  Co-Chair

Mrs. Nicholas J. Sakellariadis
  Co-Chair

R. Ellen Avellino

Coleman P. Burke

Gilbert Butler

W. Russell Byers, Jr.

Larry E. Condon

Lewis B. Cullman

Jacqueline H. Dryfoos

Julie Graham

Eugene P. Grisanti

Mrs. Andrew Heiskell

Mrs. Thomas J. Hubbard

Thomas J. Hubbard

Weslie R. Janeway

Mrs. William M. Jennings, Jr.

Martin S. Kaplan, Esq.

Diane Katzin

Edith W. Kean

Thomas Lovejoy, Ph.D.

Dan W. Lufkin

John D. Mitchell

Wilson Nolen

Professor Sir Ghillean Prance, FRS, VMH

Mrs. Robert C. Quinlan

Robert C. Quinlan

Mrs. John R. Robinson

Mrs. Andrew Safran

Gillian Steel

William C. Steere, Jr.

Edward O. Wilson, Ph.D.

Mrs. Joan O'Meara Winant


Next: Get Involved