Doctoral student Alejandra Vasco collects ferns in the high mountains of Piedras Blancas in Venezuela.

Graduate Students

The Commodore Matthew Perry Graduate Studies Program provides advanced preparation and mastery of the field of plant diversity science for approximately 40 students annually who are working toward the Ph.D. degree. The Program operates in conjunction with the following six universities: Columbia University, Cornell University, Fordham University, Lehman College of the City University of New York, New York University, and Yale University.

Doctoral student Seth Ganzhorn inspects herbarium specimens at the Garden.

Responding to the accelerating rate of habitat destruction in the tropics, the Botanical Garden has placed a priority on tropical research and the training of more botanists, not only from the United States, but from other countries as well. The Program serves a diverse student body, and Garden graduates have come from Asia, Africa, Europe and Latin America. After graduating, most foreign students return to their home countries to hold positions in government agencies, research centers, universities, and botanical gardens, where they have a direct impact on conservation, education, and biodiversity research.

Current Graduate Students

Name

Specialty

Research Projects

Graduate Students


Aguirre-Santoro, Julian
jaguirre@nybg.org
Plant systematics, Bromeliaceae
Allen, Jessica
jallen@nybg.org
Lichen systematics Lichens of the mid Atlantic Coastal Plain
Cavaliere, Dario
dariocavaliere@nybg.org
Angiosperm systematics, Martyniaceae
Davoodian, Naveed
ndavoodian@nybg.org
Mycology, Systematics of Gyroporus (Boletales) Systematics of Gyroporus
Diaz-Silveira, Genelle
gds298@nyu.edu
Angiosperm systematics, Pedaliaceae
Dorey, Jenna
jdorey@nybg.org
Systematics of Carex (Cyperaceae) Systematics and Biogeography of the Woodland Sedges Carex section Laxiflorae (Cyperaceae)
Duguid, Marlyse
marlyse.duguid@gmail.com
Disturbance ecology
Gottschalk, Stephen
sgottschalk@nybg.org
Systematics and ecology of green algae
Hawken, Iona
iona.hawken@yale.edu
Urbanization, Land-Use, and Landscape Transformation in Amazonia
Hooper, Elaine
elaine.hooper@yale.edu
Effects of seed dispersal in tropical forest regeneration, and the use of multivariate analysis to characterize species interrelationships in highly diverse tropical ecosystems
James, Thomas
thomas.james@yale.edu
Forest ecology
Keleman, Alder
Alder.keleman@yale.edu
Forestry and environmental studies
Lim, Gwynne
gsl47@cornell.edu
Plant Systematics
Martin, Meredith
meredith.martin@yale.edu
Forest management and succession
Matos, Fernando
fmatos@nybg.org
Fern systematics
Morcol, Taylan
tmorcol@nybg.org
Ethnobotany
Rodrigues, Carlos
crodrigues@nybg.org
Systematics of Araliaceae
Sleith, Robin
rsleith@nybg.org
Systematics, ecology, and evolution of freshwater green algae Starry Stonewort: Assessing the Threat of an Invasive Freshwater Macroalga in the Northeast
Stoike, Jeffrey
jeffrey.stoike@yale.edu
Agroforestry
Truong, Lan
ltruong@nybg.org
Ethnobotany
Virnig, Annie
avirnig@nybg.org
Genomics, ethnobotany
Wolkow, Robert
rw105@columbia.edu
Studies of Guyanese ethnomedicine
Xu, Chengyuan
Ecophysiology of respiration in northern hardwood forests
Zeng, Lily
lily.zeng@yale.edu
Biodiversity conservation, sacred landscapes, ethnic minorities

Back to Top