Doctoral student Alejandra Vasco collects ferns in the high mountains of Piedras Blancas in Venezuela.

Graduate Students

The Commodore Matthew Perry Graduate Studies Program provides advanced preparation and mastery of the field of plant diversity science for approximately 40 students annually who are working toward the Ph.D. degree. The Program operates in conjunction with the following six universities: Columbia University, Cornell University, Fordham University, Lehman College of the City University of New York, New York University, and Yale University.

Doctoral student Seth Ganzhorn inspects herbarium specimens at the Garden.

Responding to the accelerating rate of habitat destruction in the tropics, the Botanical Garden has placed a priority on tropical research and the training of more botanists, not only from the United States, but from other countries as well. The Program serves a diverse student body, and Garden graduates have come from Asia, Africa, Europe and Latin America. After graduating, most foreign students return to their home countries to hold positions in government agencies, research centers, universities, and botanical gardens, where they have a direct impact on conservation, education, and biodiversity research.

Current Graduate Students

Name

E-Mail Address

Specialty

Research Locations

Other Expertise

Graduate Students


Aguirre-Santoro, Julian jaguirre@nybg.org Plant systematics, Bromeliaceae Colombia
Allen, Jessica jallen@nybg.org Lichen systematics North America
Davoodian, Naveed ndavoodian@nybg.org Mycology, Systematics of Gyroporus (Boletales) North America, Australia
Dorey, Jenna jdorey@nybg.org Systematics of Carex (Cyperaceae) North America
Duguid, Marlyse marlyse.duguid@gmail.com Disturbance ecology North America
Ganzhorn, Seth ganzhorn@fordham.edu Habitat fragmentation and genetic diversity of forest trees in Atlantic coastal forests of Brazil Brazil
Hawken, Iona iona.hawken@yale.edu Urbanization, Land-Use, and Landscape Transformation in Amazonia Amazonia
Hooper, Elaine elaine.hooper@yale.edu Effects of seed dispersal in tropical forest regeneration, and the use of multivariate analysis to characterize species interrelationships in highly diverse tropical ecosystems Brazil
James, Thomas thomas.james@yale.edu Forest ecology Mongolia
Keleman, Alder Alder.keleman@yale.edu Forestry and environmental studies
Kitalong, Christopher ckitalong@nybg.org Ethnobotany Palau
Lim, Gwynne gsl47@cornell.edu Plant Systematics Southern China, Malesia
Matos, Fernando fmatos@nybg.org Fern systematics Brazil
Morcol, Taylan tmorcol@nybg.org Ethnobotany Turkey
Osterhoudt, Sarah sarah.osterhoudt@yale.edu Globalism, environmental anthropology and the vanilla bean trade in Madagascar Madagascar
Perez, William wperez@nybg.org Systematics of green algae North America
Reginato, Marcelo mreginato@nybg.org Systematics of Melastomataceae Neotropics, Brazil
Rodrigues, Carlos crodrigues@nybg.org Systematics of Araliaceae
Salinas, Nelson nsalinas@nybg.org Systematics of Ericaceae New world
Sleith, Robin rsleith@nybg.org Systematics, ecology, and evolution of freshwater green algae North America
Stoike, Jeffrey jeffrey.stoike@yale.edu Agroforestry Brazil
Truong, Lan ltruong@nybg.org Ethnobotany Vietnam
Virnig, Annie avirnig@nybg.org Genomics, ethnobotany
Wang, Xian xwang@nybg.org Systematics of green algae North America
Wolkow, Robert rw105@columbia.edu Studies of Guyanese ethnomedicine Guyana
Xu, Chengyuan Ecophysiology of respiration in northern hardwood forests North America
Zeng, Lily lily.zeng@yale.edu Biodiversity conservation, sacred landscapes, ethnic minorities Yunnan, China

Back to Top