Scientists

Staff Directory

The Science Division of The New York Botanical Garden encompasses several departments and programs and includes more than one hundred Ph.D.-level faculty members, post-doctoral researchers, graduate students, and highly trained technical staff. All are working toward the Garden’s scientific mission to explore, understand, and conserve the Earth’s vast botanical diversity.

Name

E-Mail Address

Specialty

Research Locations

Other Expertise

Staff Scientists


Ambrose, Barbara bambrose@nybg.org Plant genomics, morphology and development Evolution and Development in Lycophytes and Ferns Fruit Evolution and Development Transforming Selaginella apoda into a Major Model Species
Balick, Michael mbalick@nybg.org Ethnobotany, Poison Plants, Pacific Island Floristics Belize, Micronesia, neotropics, New York City Belize Ethnobotany Project Plants and People of Micronesia Plants and People of Vanuatu
Boom, Brian bboom@nybg.org Neotropical systematic and economic botany; Rubiaceae; forest inventories neotropics Digitization of Caribbean Plants and Fungi in The New York Botanical Garden Herbarium Identifying Cuba’s Most Vulnerable Plant Species in the Face of Climate Change and Habitat Loss Strategy for Conserving Ash Trees in the Northeast: Collection, Analysis, and Outreach
Buck, William bbuck@nybg.org Pleurocarpus mosses worldwide Bryoflora of Cape Horn Archipelago North American Lichens and Bryophytes: Sensitive Indicators of Environmental Quality and Change
Campbell, Lisa lcampbell@nybg,org Systematics; Anatomy of Xyridaceae North America; Venezuela, particularly the Guayana region Natural History Collections: Developing Ericaceae Research Resources through Collections Enhancement and Data Integration
Daly, Douglas ddaly@nybg.org Burseraceae (frankincense family) Neotropics (especially Amazonian Brazil), Mexico, Madagascar, New Guinea, Vietnam Applications of Leaf Architecture in Systematics and Forest Management Floristic Exploration in Southeast Asia Floristic Exploration in Southwestern Amazonia On the Andaquí Trail: Exploration and Conservation of Colombia's Eastern Andean Piedmont Professional Woodsmen for Managed Forests in Amazonian Brazil Systematic Studies of the Burseraceae
Halling, Roy rhalling@nybg.org Agaricales and Boletales (mushrooms, puffballs and related groups) Worldwide Bolete Mushrooms Surveys and Revisions Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation The Macrofungi Collection Consortium: Unlocking a Biodiversity Resource for Understanding Biotic Interactions, Nutrient Cycling and Human Affairs Macrofungi of Costa Rica
Henderson, Andrew ahenderson@nybg.org Arecaeae (Palm family) South Asia, Central America, Caribbean, South America Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation Revision of Calamus Palms of Vietnam
Holmgren, Noel nholmgren@nybg.org Intermountain Flora; Scrophulariaceae (Beard Tongue family) North America, Venezuela
Holmgren, Patricia pholmgren@nybg.org Intermountain Flora North America
Karol, Kenneth kkarol@nybg.org Green Algal Systematics and Evolution (Charales) Worldwide Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation The Green Algae Tree of Life The Macroalgal Herbarium Consortium: Accessing 150 Years of Specimen Data to Understand Changes in the Marine/Aquatic Environment Phylogeny and Systematics of the Characeae Starry Stonewort: Assessing the Threat of an Invasive Freshwater Macroalga in the Northeast
Kelly, Lawrence lkelly@nybg.org Aristolochiaceae (Birthwort family), Symplocaceae (Sweetleaf family), Saurauia (Actinidiaceae; Kiwi family) neotropics, worldwide Systematics of Symplocos
Lendemer, James jlendemer@nybg.org Lichen Systematics North America Biodiversity Gradients in Obligate Symbiotic Organisms: A Case Study in Lichens in a Global Diversity Hotspot (NSF Dimensions) Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation Lichen Biodiversity of the Mid-Atlantic Coastal Plain
Little, Damon dlittle@nybg.org Gymnosperms and Bioinformatics North America, worldwide DNA Barcoding of Dietary Supplements Monographia: Open-Source Software to Automate Revisionary Systematic Studies
Michelangeli, Fabian fabian@nybg.org Melastomataceae neotropics A New Era: Cuban/U.S. Collaboration in Biodiversity Science Assessing Phylogeny and Biogeography in a Megadiverse Tropical Plant Family (Melastomataceae) Dimensions US-BIOTA-São Paulo: A Multidisciplinary Framework for Biodiversity Prediction in the Brazilian Atlantic Forest Hotspot Evolution of Functional Traits in the Melastomataceae PBI: A Complete Web-based Monograph of the Tribe Miconieae (Melastomataceae)
Mickel, John jmickel@nybg.org Pteridophytes (Ferns and related groups) Mexico, North America
Moran, Robbin rmoran@nybg.org Pteridophytes (Ferns and related groups) Costa Rica, neotropics, North America Monographic and Phylogenetic Studies of Elaphoglossum (Dryopteridaceae) Phylogeny of Non-flowering Plants Taxonomic Revision and Phylogenetic Study of Campyloneurum (Polypodiaceae)
Mori, Scott smori@nybg.org Systematics and ecology of Lecythidaceae and neotropical floristics. Neotropics, especially Amazonia, French Guiana, Saba, and the Osa Peninsula, and Westchester County, New York. Assembly and Evolution of the Amazonian Biota and its Environment: An Integrated Approach Systematics and Ecology of the Brazil Nut Family (Lecythidaceae) Westchester Wilderness Walk, Zofnass Family Preserve
Naczi, Robert rnaczi@nybg.org Floristics of eastern North America, Systematics and ecology of Cyperaceae, Systematics and ecology of Sarraceniaceae Western Hemisphere Collaborative Research: Plants, Herbivores, and Parasitoids: A Model System for the Study of Tri-Trophic Associations Conservation Assessment of Intertidal Vascular Plants of the Hudson River Estuary The New Manual of Vascular Plants Project by NYBG Westchester Wilderness Walk, Zofnass Family Preserve
Pace, Matthew mpace@nybg.org New World Orchidaceae, especially Spiranthes, Platanthera, and Lepanthes; New World plant biogeography; citizen scientist inclusive orchid conservation
Peters, Charles cpeters@nybg.org Tropical forestry and ecology Amazonia, Mexico, Indonesia, Myanmar, Vietnam, SW China, Laos, Cambodia Community-based Natural Resource Management in Sagaing Region, Myanmar
Plunkett, Gregory gplunkett@nybg.org Araliaceae, Apiaceae, Pittosporaceae SW Pacific Islands, Temperate and Tropical South America Plants and People of Vanuatu Strategy for Conserving Ash Trees in the Northeast: Collection, Analysis, and Outreach Tackling Schefflera: Initiating the Re-circumscription of the Largest Genus in Araliaceae (ginseng family)
Stevenson, Dennis dws@nybg.org Cycadales (Cycads) neotropics, worldwide Collaborative Research: AVATOL - Next Generation Phenomics for the Tree of Life cROP: Common Reference Ontologies and Applications for Plant Biology EvoNet: A Phylogenomic and Systems Biology Approach to Identify Genes Underlying Plant Survival in Marginal, Low-Nitrogen Soils Genomics of Comparative Seed Evolution Phylogeography and Conservation Genetics of the Caribbean Zamia clade
Thiers, Barbara bthiers@nybg.org Hepaticae (Liverworts) neotropics, worldwide Assembly and evolution of the Amazonian biota and its environment: an integrated approach Digitization of Caribbean Plants and Fungi in The New York Botanical Garden Herbarium Documenting the Occurrence through Space and Time of Aquatic Non-indigenous Fish, Mollusks, Algae, and Plants Threatening North America's Great Lakes Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation The Macrofungi Collection Consortium: Unlocking a Biodiversity Resource for Understanding Biotic Interactions, Nutrient Cycling and Human Affairs Partnership to the Existing New England Vascular Plant Network for Collections at the New York Botanical Garden World Flora Online
Thomas, William wthomas@nybg.org Cyperaceae (Sedge family), Simaroubaceae (Tree of Heaven family, and Picramniaceae (Bitter-bush Family) Flora and conservation of the Atlantic forest of northeastern Brazil Brazil (especially the Atlantic coastal forest), neotropics, worldwide Coastal Forest Plant Diversity in Northeastern Brazil Dimensions US-BIOTA-São Paulo: A Multidisciplinary Framework for Biodiversity Prediction in the Brazilian Atlantic Forest Hotspot Molecular-based Plant inventory of a Megadiverse Bahian Forest Plant Diversity in the Montane Forest of Pernambuco Systematics of Rhynchospora (Cyperaceae) World Flora Online
Torke, Benjamin btorke@nybg.org Leguminosae (bean family); floristics and species diversity in Amazonia neotropics, especially Brazil Floristic Inventory of the Tapajos National Forest and Amazonia National Park Legume Research at The New York Botanical Garden Phylogenetics and taxonomy of Ormosia A Systematic Monograph of Swartzia
Vandebroek, Ina ivandebroek@nybg.org Floristics and ethnobotany of useful plants and community health in the Caribbean and New York City Jamaica, Dominican Republic, New York City Improving Health Care for Underserved Immigrant Caribbean and Latino Communities in New York City Comparative Exploration of Plants and Local Knowledge in Portland Parish, Jamaica Cultural Competency Training Program for Health Care Providers

Back to Top

Research Associates


Andres, Thomas
Armstrong, Kathleen karmstrong@nybg.org Sytematics and biogeography of Sapotaceae and Cordiaceae; SE Asian floristics SE Asia Floristic Inventory of a Neglected Biodiversity Hotspot: Myanmar's Northern Forest Complex Plant Conservation and Forest Resource Management in Myanmar
Atha, Daniel datha@nybg.org flora of Belize; flora of the Caucasus; flora of North America; Acalypha subgenus Linostachys; Polygonaceae, esp. Persicaria. Flora of Central Park Incised Fumewort in Westchester County: Early Detection and Rapid Response Strategy for Conserving Ash Trees in the Northeast: Collection, Analysis, and Outreach
Harris, Richard rharris@nybg.org Lichens North America, West Indies
Kallunki, Jacquelyn jkallunki@nybg.org Rutaceae (Orange family) neotropics
Law, Wayne wlaw@nybg.org Ethnobotany; Ecology Micronesia  
Mitchell, John jmitchell@nybg.org Anacardiaceae neotropics, worldwide
Pedraza, Paola ppedraza at nybg.org; paola.pedraza at gmail.com Systematics of Ericaceae Central and South America Flora of Las Orquídeas National Park
Reginato, Marcelo mreginato@nybg.org Systematics of Melastomataceae Neotropics, Brazil
Sewell, Matthew msewell@nybg.org
Zanoni, Thomas tzanoni@nybg.org Gymnosperms West Indies

Back to Top

Graduate Students


Allen, Jessica jallen@nybg.org Lichen systematics North America Lichen Conservation Biology
Cannon, Brandi bcc2145@columbia.edu Parasitic plants, conservation, ex-situ propagation, in-situ restoration Disturbance ecology and its overall influence on the conservation of Schwalbea americana (Orobanchaceae)
Cavaliere, Dario dariocavaliere@nybg.org Angiosperm systematics, Martyniaceae New World
Davoodian, Naveed ndavoodian@nybg.org Mycology, Phylogenetics, Conservation North America, Australia, East Asia Systematics of Gyroporus (Boletales)
Dorey, Jenna jdorey@nybg.org Systematics of Carex (Cyperaceae) North America Systematics and Biogeography of the Woodland Sedges Carex section Laxiflorae (Cyperaceae)
Duguid, Marlyse marlyse.duguid@gmail.com Disturbance ecology North America
Gavrutenko, Maria gavrucent@gmail.com Reproductive biology of Melastomataceae
Gottschalk, Stephen sgottschalk@nybg.org Systematics and ecology of green algae New World
Hawken, Iona iona.hawken@yale.edu Urbanization, Land-Use, and Landscape Transformation in Amazonia Amazonia
James, Thomas thomas.james@yale.edu Forest ecology Mongolia
Keleman, Alder Alder.keleman@yale.edu Forestry and environmental studies
Lim, Gwynne gsl47@cornell.edu Plant Systematics Southern China, Malesia
Martin, Meredith meredith.martin@yale.edu Forest management and succession New World
Morcol, Taylan tmorcol@nybg.org Ethnobotany Turkey
Rodrigues, Carlos crodrigues@nybg.org Systematics of Araliaceae
Schmiege, Stephanie sschmiege@gmail.com Physiology of drought stress in tropical trees
Sleith, Robin rsleith@nybg.org Systematics, ecology, and evolution of freshwater green algae North America Starry Stonewort: Assessing the Threat of an Invasive Freshwater Macroalga in the Northeast
Stoike, Jeffrey jeffrey.stoike@yale.edu Agroforestry Brazil
Truong, Lan ltruong@nybg.org Ethnobotany Vietnam
Wolkow, Robert rw105@columbia.edu Studies of Guyanese ethnomedicine Guyana
Young, Katherine katherine.young@yale.edu Agroforestry and ethnobotany
Zeng, Lily lily.zeng@yale.edu Biodiversity conservation, sacred landscapes, ethnic minorities Yunnan, China

Back to Top