Print-friendly version

Scientists

Staff Directory

The Science Division of The New York Botanical Garden encompasses several departments and programs and includes more than one hundred Ph.D.-level faculty members, post-doctoral researchers, graduate students, and highly trained technical staff. All are working toward the Garden’s scientific mission to explore, understand, and conserve the Earth’s vast botanical diversity.

Name

E-Mail Address

Specialty

Research Locations

Other Expertise

Staff Scientists


Ambrose, Barbara bambrose@nybg.org plant genomics, morphology and development
Balick, Michael mbalick@nybg.org Ethnobotany, Poison Plants, Pacific Island Floristics Belize, Micronesia, neotropics, New York City
Boom, Brian bboom@nybg.org Neotropical systematic and economic botany; Rubiaceae; forest inventories neotropics
Buck, William bbuck@nybg.org Pleurocarpus mosses worldwide
Campbell, Lisa lcampbell@nybg,org Systematics; Anatomy of Xyridaceae North America; Venezuela, particularly the Guayana region Poales
Daly, Douglas ddaly@nybg.org Burseraceae (frankincense family) Neotropics (especially Amazonian Brazil), Mexico, Madagascar, New Guinea, Vietnam leaf architecture, tree identification, floristics of Amazonia, economic botany, certification of managed tropical forests
Halling, Roy rhalling@nybg.org Agaricales and Boletales (mushrooms, puffballs and related groups) Worldwide Poisonous fungi
Henderson, Andrew ahenderson@nybg.org Arecaeae (Palm family) South Asia, Central America, Caribbean, South America
Holmgren, Noel nholmgren@nybg.org Intermountain Flora North America, Venezuela Scrophulariaceae (Beard Tongue family)
Holmgren, Patricia pholmgren@nybg.org Intermountain Flora North America
Kallunki, Jacquelyn jkallunki@nybg.org Rutaceae (Orange family) neotropics
Karol, Kenneth kkarol@nybg.org Green Algal Systematics and Evolution (Charales) Worldwide Organellar Genome Evolution
Kelly, Lawrence lkelly@nybg.org Aristolochiaceae (Birthwort family), Symplocaceae (Sweetleaf family), Saurauia (Actinidiaceae; Kiwi family) neotropics, worldwide
Litt, Amy alitt@nybg.org plant genomics; floral morphology and development Vochysiaceae
Little, Damon dlittle@nybg.org Gymnosperms and Bioinformatics North America, worldwide
Michelangeli, Fabian fabian@nybg.org Melastomataceae neotropics ant-plant interactions
Mickel, John jmickel@nybg.org Pteridophytes (Ferns and related groups) Mexico, North America
Moran, Robbin rmoran@nybg.org Pteridophytes (Ferns and related groups) Costa Rica, neotropics, North America
Mori, Scott smori@nybg.org Systematics and ecology of Lecythidaceae and neotropical floristics. Neotropics, especially Amazonia, French Guiana, Saba, and the Osa Peninsula, and Westchester County, New York. Plant/animal interactions, bat seed dispersal, and presentation of data about plant systematics on the Internet.
Naczi, Robert rnaczi@nybg.org Floristics of eastern North America, Systematics and ecology of Cyperaceae, Systematics and ecology of Sarraceniaceae Western Hemisphere  
Padoch, Christine cpadoch@nybg.org Smallholder resource management in tropics Amazonia, Southeast Asia
Pedraza, Paola ppedraza at nybg.org; paola.pedraza at gmail.com Systematics of Ericaceae Central and South America Andean flora, especially floristics and diversity in paramos and cloud forests.
Peters, Charles cpeters@nybg.org Tropical forestry and ecology Amazonia, Mexico, Indonesia, Myanmar, Vietnam, SW China, Laos, Cambodia
Plunkett, Gregory gplunkett@nybg.org Araliaceae, Apiaceae, Pittosporaceae SW Pacific Islands, Temperate and Tropical South America Molecular Systematics, Biogeography
Stevenson, Dennis dws@nybg.org Cycadaceae (Cycad family) neotropics, worldwide
Thiers, Barbara bthiers@nybg.org Hepaticae (Liverworts) neotropics, worldwide
Thomas, William wthomas@nybg.org Cyperaceae (Sedge family), Simaroubaceae (Tree of Heaven family, and Picramniaceae (Bitter-bush Family) Brazil (especially the Atlantic coastal forest), neotropics, worldwide Executive Director, Organization for Flora Neotropica
Torke, Benjamin btorke@nybg.org Leguminosae (bean family); floristics and species diversity in Amazonia neotropics, especially Brazil
Vandebroek, Ina ivandebroek@nybg.org Ethnobotany of medicinal plants and community health in the Caribbean, South America and New York City Bolivia, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, New York City Medical Cultural Competency Training, Community Outreach, Development Cooperation
Zanoni, Thomas tzanoni@nybg.org Gymnosperms West Indies

Back to Top

Research Associates


Armstrong, Kathleen Sytematics and biogeography of Sapotaceae and Cordiaceae SE Asia
Atha, Daniel datha@nybg.org flora of Belize; flora of the Caucasus; flora of North America; Acalypha subgenus Linostachys; Polygonaceae, esp. Persicaria.
Harris, Richard rharris@nybg.org Lichens North America, West Indies lichens worldwide
Law, Wayne wlaw@nybg.org Ethnobotany; Ecology Micronesia  
Lendemer, James jlendemer@nybg.org Lichen Systematics North America Dichanthelium dichotomum group (Poaceae)
McCarthy, Elizabeth emccarthy@nybg.org Floral development and evolution
Mitchell, John jmitchell@nybg.org Anacardiaceae neotropics, worldwide
Sewell, Matthew msewell@nybg.org

Back to Top

Graduate Students


Aguirre-Santoro, Julian jaguirre@nybg.org Plant systematics, Bromeliaceae Colombia
Allen, Jessica jallen@nybg.org Lichen systematics North America
Davoodian, Naveed ndavoodian@nybg.org Mycology
Dorey, Jenna jdorey@nybg.org Systematics of Carex (Cyperaceae) North America
Duguid, Marlyse marlyse.duguid@gmail.com Disturbance ecology North America
Ganzhorn, Seth ganzhorn@fordham.edu Habitat fragmentation and genetic diversity of forest trees in Atlantic coastal forests of Brazil Brazil
Hawken, Iona iona.hawken@yale.edu Urbanization, Land-Use, and Landscape Transformation in Amazonia Amazonia
Hooper, Elaine elaine.hooper@yale.edu Effects of seed dispersal in tropical forest regeneration, and the use of multivariate analysis to characterize species interrelationships in highly diverse tropical ecosystems Brazil
James, Thomas thomas.james@yale.edu Forest ecology Mongolia
Keleman, Alder Alder.keleman@yale.edu Forestry and environmental studies
Kitalong, Christopher ckitalong@nybg.org Ethnobotany Palau
Lim, Gwynne gsl47@cornell.edu Plant Systematics Southern China, Malesia
Matos, Fernando fmatos@nybg.org Fern systematics Brazil
Morcol, Taylan tmorcol@nybg.org Ethnobotany Turkey
Osterhoudt, Sarah sarah.osterhoudt@yale.edu Globalism, environmental anthropology and the vanilla bean trade in Madagascar Madagascar
Perez, William wperez@nybg.org Systematics of green algae North America
Reginato, Marcelo mreginato@nybg.org Systematics of Melastomataceae Neotropics, Brazil
Rodrigues, Carlos crodrigues@nybg.org Systematics of Araliaceae
Salinas, Nelson nsalinas@nybg.org Systematics of Ericaceae New world
Sleith, Robin rsleith@nybg.org Systematics, ecology, and evolution of green algae North America
Stoike, Jeffrey jeffrey.stoike@yale.edu Agroforestry Brazil
Truong, Lan ltruong@nybg.org Ethnobotany Vietnam
Virnig, Annie avirnig@nybg.org Genomics, ethnobotany
Wang, Xian xwang@nybg.org Systematics of green algae North America
Wolkow, Robert rw105@columbia.edu Studies of Guyanese ethnomedicine Guyana
Xu, Chengyuan Ecophysiology of respiration in northern hardwood forests North America
Zeng, Lily lily.zeng@yale.edu Biodiversity conservation China

Back to Top