The New York Botanical Garden

SCIENCE

Print-friendly version

Scientists

Staff Directory

The Science Division of The New York Botanical Garden encompasses several departments and programs and includes more than one hundred Ph.D.-level faculty members, post-doctoral researchers, graduate students, and highly trained technical staff. All are working toward the Garden’s scientific mission to explore, understand, and conserve the Earth’s vast botanical diversity.

Name

Specialty

Research Projects

Staff Scientists


Ambrose, Barbara
bambrose@nybg.org
Plant genomics, morphology and development Evolution and Development in Lycophytes and Ferns Fruit Evolution and Development Transforming Selaginella apoda into a Major Model Species
Balick, Michael
mbalick@nybg.org
Ethnobotany, Poison Plants, Pacific Island Floristics Belize Ethnobotany Project Plants and People of Micronesia
Boom, Brian
bboom@nybg.org
Neotropical systematic and economic botany; Rubiaceae; forest inventories Digitization of Caribbean Plants and Fungi in The New York Botanical Garden Herbarium Identifying Cuba’s Most Vulnerable Plant Species in the Face of Climate Change and Habitat Loss Strategy for Conserving Ash Trees in the Northeast: Collection, Analysis, and Outreach
Buck, William
bbuck@nybg.org
Pleurocarpus mosses Bryoflora of Cape Horn Archipelago North American Lichens and Bryophytes: Sensitive Indicators of Environmental Quality and Change
Campbell, Lisa
lcampbell@nybg,org
Systematics; Anatomy of Xyridaceae Natural History Collections: Developing Ericaceae Research Resources through Collections Enhancement and Data Integration
Daly, Douglas
ddaly@nybg.org
Burseraceae (frankincense family) Applications of Leaf Architecture in Systematics and Forest Management Floristic Exploration in Southeast Asia Floristic Exploration in Southwestern Amazonia On the Andaquí Trail: Exploration and Conservation of Colombia's Eastern Andean Piedmont Professional Woodsmen for Managed Forests in Amazonian Brazil Systematic Studies of the Burseraceae
Halling, Roy
rhalling@nybg.org
Agaricales and Boletales (mushrooms, puffballs and related groups) Bolete Mushrooms Surveys and Revisions Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation The Macrofungi Collection Consortium: Unlocking a Biodiversity Resource for Understanding Biotic Interactions, Nutrient Cycling and Human Affairs Macrofungi of Costa Rica
Henderson, Andrew
ahenderson@nybg.org
Arecaeae (Palm family) Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation Revision of Calamus Palms of Vietnam
Holmgren, Noel
nholmgren@nybg.org
Intermountain Flora; Scrophulariaceae (Beard Tongue family)
Holmgren, Patricia
pholmgren@nybg.org
Intermountain Flora
Kallunki, Jacquelyn
jkallunki@nybg.org
Rutaceae (Orange family)
Karol, Kenneth
kkarol@nybg.org
Green Algal Systematics and Evolution (Charales) Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation The Green Algae Tree of Life The Macroalgal Herbarium Consortium: Accessing 150 Years of Specimen Data to Understand Changes in the Marine/Aquatic Environment Phylogeny and Systematics of the Characeae Starry Stonewort: Assessing the Threat of an Invasive Freshwater Macroalga in the Northeast
Kelly, Lawrence
lkelly@nybg.org
Aristolochiaceae (Birthwort family), Symplocaceae (Sweetleaf family), Saurauia (Actinidiaceae; Kiwi family) Systematics of Symplocos
Lendemer, James
jlendemer@nybg.org
Lichen Systematics Biodiversity Gradients in Obligate Symbiotic Organisms: A Case Study in Lichens in a Global Diversity Hotspot (NSF Dimensions) Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation Lichen Biodiversity of the Mid-Atlantic Coastal Plain
Little, Damon
dlittle@nybg.org
Gymnosperms and Bioinformatics DNA Barcoding of Dietary Supplements Monographia: Open-Source Software to Automate Revisionary Systematic Studies
Michelangeli, Fabian
fabian@nybg.org
Melastomataceae A New Era: Cuban/U.S. Collaboration in Biodiversity Science Assessing Phylogeny and Biogeography in a Megadiverse Tropical Plant Family (Melastomataceae) Dimensions US-BIOTA-São Paulo: A Multidisciplinary Framework for Biodiversity Prediction in the Brazilian Atlantic Forest Hotspot Evolution of Functional Traits in the Melastomataceae PBI: A Complete Web-based Monograph of the Tribe Miconieae (Melastomataceae)
Mickel, John
jmickel@nybg.org
Pteridophytes (Ferns and related groups)
Moran, Robbin
rmoran@nybg.org
Pteridophytes (Ferns and related groups) Monographic and Phylogenetic Studies of Elaphoglossum (Dryopteridaceae) Phylogeny of Non-flowering Plants Taxonomic Revision and Phylogenetic Study of Campyloneurum (Polypodiaceae)
Mori, Scott
smori@nybg.org
Systematics and ecology of Lecythidaceae and neotropical floristics. Assembly and Evolution of the Amazonian Biota and its Environment: An Integrated Approach Systematics and Ecology of the Brazil Nut Family (Lecythidaceae) Westchester Wilderness Walk, Zofnass Family Preserve
Naczi, Robert
rnaczi@nybg.org
Floristics of eastern North America, Systematics and ecology of Cyperaceae, Systematics and ecology of Sarraceniaceae Collaborative Research: Plants, Herbivores, and Parasitoids: A Model System for the Study of Tri-Trophic Associations Conservation Assessment of Intertidal Vascular Plants of the Hudson River Estuary The New Manual of Vascular Plants Project by NYBG Westchester Wilderness Walk, Zofnass Family Preserve
Pace, Matthew
mpace@nybg.org
New World Orchidaceae, especially Spiranthes, Platanthera, and Lepanthes; New World plant biogeography; citizen scientist inclusive orchid conservation
Pedraza, Paola
ppedraza at nybg.org; paola.pedraza at gmail.com
Systematics of Ericaceae Flora of Las Orquídeas National Park
Peters, Charles
cpeters@nybg.org
Tropical forestry and ecology Community-based Natural Resource Management in Sagaing Region, Myanmar
Plunkett, Gregory
gplunkett@nybg.org
Araliaceae, Apiaceae, Pittosporaceae Strategy for Conserving Ash Trees in the Northeast: Collection, Analysis, and Outreach Tackling Schefflera: Initiating the Re-circumscription of the Largest Genus in Araliaceae (ginseng family)
Stevenson, Dennis
dws@nybg.org
Cycadales (Cycads) Collaborative Research: AVATOL - Next Generation Phenomics for the Tree of Life cROP: Common Reference Ontologies and Applications for Plant Biology EvoNet: A Phylogenomic and Systems Biology Approach to Identify Genes Underlying Plant Survival in Marginal, Low-Nitrogen Soils Genomics of Comparative Seed Evolution Phylogeography and Conservation Genetics of the Caribbean Zamia clade
Thiers, Barbara
bthiers@nybg.org
Hepaticae (Liverworts) Assembly and evolution of the Amazonian biota and its environment: an integrated approach Digitization of Caribbean Plants and Fungi in The New York Botanical Garden Herbarium Documenting the Occurrence through Space and Time of Aquatic Non-indigenous Fish, Mollusks, Algae, and Plants Threatening North America's Great Lakes Expansion of the New York Botanical Garden Herbarium to Incorporate Newly Acquired Specimens and Improve Curation The Macrofungi Collection Consortium: Unlocking a Biodiversity Resource for Understanding Biotic Interactions, Nutrient Cycling and Human Affairs Partnership to the Existing New England Vascular Plant Network for Collections at the New York Botanical Garden World Flora Online
Thomas, William
wthomas@nybg.org
Cyperaceae (Sedge family), Simaroubaceae (Tree of Heaven family, and Picramniaceae (Bitter-bush Family) Flora and conservation of the Atlantic forest of northeastern Brazil Coastal Forest Plant Diversity in Northeastern Brazil Dimensions US-BIOTA-São Paulo: A Multidisciplinary Framework for Biodiversity Prediction in the Brazilian Atlantic forest hotspot Molecular-based Plant inventory of a Megadiverse Bahian Forest Plant Diversity in the Montane Forest of Pernambuco Systematics of Rhynchospora (Cyperaceae) World Flora Online
Torke, Benjamin
btorke@nybg.org
Leguminosae (bean family); floristics and species diversity in Amazonia Floristic Inventory of the Tapajos National Forest and Amazonia National Park Legume Research at The New York Botanical Garden Phylogenetics and taxonomy of Ormosia A Systematic Monograph of Swartzia
Vandebroek, Ina
ivandebroek@nybg.org
Floristics and ethnobotany of useful plants and community health in the Caribbean and New York City Improving Health Care for Underserved Immigrant Caribbean and Latino Communities in New York City Comparative Exploration of Plants and Local Knowledge in Portland Parish, Jamaica Cultural Competency Training Program for Health Care Providers
Zanoni, Thomas
tzanoni@nybg.org
Gymnosperms

Back to Top

Research Associates


Andres, Thomas
Armstrong, Kathleen
karmstrong@nybg.org
Sytematics and biogeography of Sapotaceae and Cordiaceae; SE Asian floristics Floristic Inventory of a Neglected Biodiversity Hotspot: Myanmar's Northern Forest Complex Plant Conservation and Forest Resource Management in Myanmar
Atha, Daniel
datha@nybg.org
flora of Belize; flora of the Caucasus; flora of North America; Acalypha subgenus Linostachys; Polygonaceae, esp. Persicaria. Flora of Central Park Incised Fumewort in Westchester County: Early Detection and Rapid Response Strategy for Conserving Ash Trees in the Northeast: Collection, Analysis, and Outreach
Harris, Richard
rharris@nybg.org
Lichens
Law, Wayne
wlaw@nybg.org
Ethnobotany; Ecology  
Mitchell, John
jmitchell@nybg.org
Anacardiaceae
Reginato, Marcelo
mreginato@nybg.org
Systematics of Melastomataceae
Sewell, Matthew
msewell@nybg.org

Back to Top

Graduate Students


Allen, Jessica
jallen@nybg.org
Lichen systematics Lichen Conservation Biology
Cannon, Brandi
bcc2145@columbia.edu
Parasitic plants, conservation, ex-situ propagation, in-situ restoration Disturbance ecology and its overall influence on the conservation of Schwalbea americana (Orobanchaceae)
Cavaliere, Dario
dariocavaliere@nybg.org
Angiosperm systematics, Martyniaceae
Davoodian, Naveed
ndavoodian@nybg.org
Mycology, Phylogenetics, Conservation Systematics of Gyroporus (Boletales)
Dorey, Jenna
jdorey@nybg.org
Systematics of Carex (Cyperaceae) Systematics and Biogeography of the Woodland Sedges Carex section Laxiflorae (Cyperaceae)
Duguid, Marlyse
marlyse.duguid@gmail.com
Disturbance ecology
Gavrutenko, Maria
gavrucent@gmail.com
Reproductive biology of Melastomataceae
Gottschalk, Stephen
sgottschalk@nybg.org
Systematics and ecology of green algae
Hawken, Iona
iona.hawken@yale.edu
Urbanization, Land-Use, and Landscape Transformation in Amazonia
James, Thomas
thomas.james@yale.edu
Forest ecology
Keleman, Alder
Alder.keleman@yale.edu
Forestry and environmental studies
Lim, Gwynne
gsl47@cornell.edu
Plant Systematics
Martin, Meredith
meredith.martin@yale.edu
Forest management and succession
Morcol, Taylan
tmorcol@nybg.org
Ethnobotany
Rodrigues, Carlos
crodrigues@nybg.org
Systematics of Araliaceae
Schmiege, Stephanie
sschmiege@gmail.com
Physiology of drought stress in tropical trees
Sleith, Robin
rsleith@nybg.org
Systematics, ecology, and evolution of freshwater green algae Starry Stonewort: Assessing the Threat of an Invasive Freshwater Macroalga in the Northeast
Stoike, Jeffrey
jeffrey.stoike@yale.edu
Agroforestry
Truong, Lan
ltruong@nybg.org
Ethnobotany
Wolkow, Robert
rw105@columbia.edu
Studies of Guyanese ethnomedicine
Young, Katherine
katherine.young@yale.edu
Agroforestry and ethnobotany
Zeng, Lily
lily.zeng@yale.edu
Biodiversity conservation, sacred landscapes, ethnic minorities

Back to Top