Valid proof of COVID-19 vaccination and ID is required for entry to indoor exhibition spaces and facilities, and all dining areas. Learn more.

Image of river Rio Branco Rondonia.


Core Staff

Dedicated CCS scientists:
Brian Boom, Ph.D.
Curator Emeritus

Daniel Atha
Director of Conservation Strategy

Affiliated Scientists

NYBG staff and adjunct scientists who participate in CCS research projects:
Regina Alvarez, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Central Park Conservancy

Kathleen Armstrong, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany

Michael Balick, Ph.D.
Vice President for Botanical Research, Senior Philecology Curator of Economic Botany, and Director of the Institute of Economic Botany

Douglas Daly, Ph.D.
B. A. Krukoff Curator of Amazonian Botany and Director, Institute of Systematic Botany

Andrew Henderson, Ph.D.
Curator Emeritus, Institute of Systematic Botany

Kenneth Karol, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics Studies

James Lendemer, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany

Fabian Michelangeli, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany

Robert Naczi, Ph.D.
Arthur J. Cronquist Curator of North American Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany

Gregory Plunkett, Ph.D.
Director and Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Curator of Molecular Systematics Studies

Dennis Stevenson, Ph.D.
Senior Curator Emeritus

Barbara Thiers, Ph.D.
Patricia K. Holmgren Director, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium and Vice President of Science Administration

Wayt Thomas, Ph.D.
Elizabeth G. Britton Curator of Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany

Ben Torke, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany

Ina Vandebroek, Ph.D.
Matthew Calbraith Perry Assistant Curator of Economic Botany, Institute of Economic Botany

Science Committee

A committee of the Board of Trustees, the Science Committee provides feedback and guidance to NYBG’s Science and Conservation programs.

Edward P. Bass
Honorary Chair

George P. Milne, Jr., Ph.D

Mrs. Nicholas J. Sakellariadis

R. Ellen Avellino
Coleman P. Burke
Gilbert Butler
W. Russell Byers, Jr.
Larry E. Condon
Lewis B. Cullman
Jacqueline H. Dryfoos
Julie Graham
Eugene P. Grisanti
Mrs. Andrew Heiskell
Mrs. Thomas J. Hubbard
Thomas J. Hubbard
Weslie R. Janeway
Mrs. William M. Jennings, Jr.
Martin S. Kaplan, Esq.
Diane Katzin
Edith W. Kean
Thomas Lovejoy, Ph.D.
Dan W. Lufkin
John D. Mitchell
Wilson Nolen
Professor Sir Ghillean Prance, FRS, VMH
Mrs. Robert C. Quinlan
Robert C. Quinlan
Mrs. John R. Robinson
Mrs. Andrew Safran
Gillian Steel
William C. Steere, Jr.
Edward O. Wilson, Ph.D.
Mrs. Joan O’Meara Winant

Next: Get Involved