Image of river Rio Branco Rondonia.

Staff

Core Staff

Dedicated CCS scientists:
Brian Boom, Ph.D.
Curator Emeritus
bboom@nybg.org

Daniel Atha
Director of Conservation Strategy
datha@nybg.org

Affiliated Scientists

NYBG staff and adjunct scientists who participate in CCS research projects:
Regina Alvarez, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Central Park Conservancy

Kathleen Armstrong, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
karmstrong@nybg.org

Michael Balick, Ph.D.
Vice President for Botanical Research, Senior Philecology Curator of Economic Botany, and Director of the Institute of Economic Botany
mbalick@nybg.org

Douglas Daly, Ph.D.
B. A. Krukoff Curator of Amazonian Botany and Director, Institute of Systematic Botany
ddaly@nybg.org

Andrew Henderson, Ph.D.
Curator Emeritus, Institute of Systematic Botany
ahenderson@nybg.org

Kenneth Karol, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics Studies
kkarol@nybg.org

James Lendemer, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
jlendemer@nybg.org

Fabian Michelangeli, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
fabian@nybg.org

Robert Naczi, Ph.D.
Arthur J. Cronquist Curator of North American Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany
rnaczi@nybg.org

Gregory Plunkett, Ph.D.
Director and Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Curator of Molecular Systematics Studies
gplunkett@nybg.org

Dennis Stevenson, Ph.D.
Senior Curator Emeritus
dws@nybg.org

Barbara Thiers, Ph.D.
Patricia K. Holmgren Director, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium and Vice President of Science Administration
bthiers@nybg.org

Wayt Thomas, Ph.D.
Elizabeth G. Britton Curator of Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany
wthomas@nybg.org

Ben Torke, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
btorke@nybg.org

Ina Vandebroek, Ph.D.
Matthew Calbraith Perry Assistant Curator of Economic Botany, Institute of Economic Botany
ivandebroek@nybg.org

Science Committee

A committee of the Board of Trustees, the Science Committee provides feedback and guidance to NYBG’s Science and Conservation programs.

Edward P. Bass
Honorary Chair

George P. Milne, Jr., Ph.D
Co-Chair

Mrs. Nicholas J. Sakellariadis
Co-Chair

R. Ellen Avellino
Coleman P. Burke
Gilbert Butler
W. Russell Byers, Jr.
Larry E. Condon
Lewis B. Cullman
Jacqueline H. Dryfoos
Julie Graham
Eugene P. Grisanti
Mrs. Andrew Heiskell
Mrs. Thomas J. Hubbard
Thomas J. Hubbard
Weslie R. Janeway
Mrs. William M. Jennings, Jr.
Martin S. Kaplan, Esq.
Diane Katzin
Edith W. Kean
Thomas Lovejoy, Ph.D.
Dan W. Lufkin
John D. Mitchell
Wilson Nolen
Professor Sir Ghillean Prance, FRS, VMH
Mrs. Robert C. Quinlan
Robert C. Quinlan
Mrs. John R. Robinson
Mrs. Andrew Safran
Gillian Steel
William C. Steere, Jr.
Edward O. Wilson, Ph.D.
Mrs. Joan O’Meara Winant

Next: Get Involved