Home Gardening Center Tip Sheet: Stout Medal Winning Daylilies

By Sonia Uyterhoeven

·· Flowers ··

Daylilies: Stout Medal Winners

The Stout Silver Medal is one of the highest awards that a daylily cultivar can receive. It is given by the American Hemerocallis Society (AHS) in memory of Dr. Arlow Burdette Stout, a former curator at The New York Botanical Garden and one of the fathers of modern daylily breeding in North America. The award started in 1950. Here are a few of the recent winners that are readily available.

2010 J.T. Davis 1994 Janice Brown
2009 Skinwalker 1993 Siloam Double Classic
2008 All American Chief 1992 Barbara Mitchell
2007 Lavender Blue Baby 1991 Betty Woods
2006 Ed Brown 1990 Fairy Tale Pink
2005 Fooled Me 1989 Brocaded Gown
2004 Moonlit Masquerade 1988 Martha Adams
2003 Primal Scream 1987 Becky Lynn
2002 Bill Norris 1986 Janet Gayle
2001 Ida’s Magic 1985 Stella de Oro
2000 Elizabeth Salter 1984 My Belle
1999 Custard Candy 1983 Sabie
1998 Strawberry Candy 1982 Ruffled Apricot
1997 Always Afternoon 1981 Ed Murray
1996 Wedding Band 1980 Bertie Ferris
1995 Neal Berrey


Also, look for daylily cultivars that have received the AHS Award of Merit. They are judged for outstanding performance and beauty.

Download this Tip Sheet.

·· Flowers ··

Generous support for the Home Gardening Center has been provided by Kenneth and Ellen Roman.