The New York Botanical Garden

MERTZ LIBRARY

RESOURCES FOR JOB SEEKERS IN THE NEW YORK AREA

Horticulture, Gardening, Landscape Design & Related Professions


Job Boards

American Horticultural Therapy Association http://www.ahta.org/members.cfm

American Society of Landscape Architects http://www.asla.org

American Society for Horticultural Science http://www.ashs.org
http://cyber-sierra.com/nrjobs/index.html
http://earthworks-jobs.com
http://www.ecoclub.com/jobs/
http://www.ecoemploy.com/
http://www.globalexchange.org/

HorticulturalJobs.com http://www.horticulturaljobs.com/

Jobs in Horticulture http://www.hortjobs.com

MetroHort Group Online Jobs Board http://www.metrohort.org/job_list.asp
http://www.sequencestaffing.com/
http://www.stopdodo.com/
http://www.sustainablebusiness.com/index.cfm/go/greendreamjobx.main/?CFID=5291850&CFT


Local Internship Opportunities

Battery Park City Conservancy http://www.bpcparks.org

Brooklyn Botanic Garden http://www.bbg.org

Central Park Conservancy http://www.centralparknyc.org

New York Botanical Garden http://www.nybg.org

New York Restoration Project http://www.nyrp.org

Queens Botanical Garden http://www.queensbotanical.org

Staten Island Botanical Garden http://www.sibg.org

The Battery http://www.thebattery.org

Wave Hill http://www.wavehill.org


Volunteer Opportunities

Battery Park City Conservancy http://www.bpcparks.org

Brooklyn Botanic Garden http://www.bbg.org

Central Park Conservancy http://www,centralparknyc.org

Council on the Environment of NYC http://www.cenyc.org

Green Guerillas http://www.greenguerillas.org

Madison Square Park Conservancy http://www.madisonsquarepark.org

Million Trees NYC http://www.milliontreesnyc.org

NYC Department of Parks & Recreation http://www.nycgovparks.org

New York Botanical Garden http://www.nybg.org

New York Restoration Project http://www.nyrp.org

The Battery http://www.thebattery.org

Wave Hill http://www.wavehill.org


Local Job Searching Resources

New York State Department of Labor New York Public Library
Careerbuilders.com
Monster.com
Nytimes.com
Job.com
Hotjobs.com
Simplyhired.com
Hiremenow.com
Snagajob.com
Univision.com


Classified/Help Wanted - Local Newspapers

The Chief
The Village Voice
New York Post
New York Daily News
New York Times


EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES

Horticulture, Gardening, Landscape Design & Related Professions


Horticulture Programs

New York Botanical Garden http://www.nybg.org/edu/conted/

Cornell University http://hort.cals.cornell.edu/

Morrisville State College http://www.morrisville.edu/academics/Ag_NRC/Horticulture/index.htm

SUNY at Farmingdale (horticultural technology management http://www.farmingdale.edu

School of Professional Horticulture, NYBG http://www.nybg.org

Temple University, Ambler Campus http://www.temple.edu/ambler


Landscape Architecture Programs

Cornell University http://www.landscape.cornell.edu

SUNY at Syracuse http://www.esf.edu/la/

City College of New York http://www1.ccny.cuny.edu/prospective/architecture

Rutgers University http://landarch.rutgers.edu

University of Connecticut http://www.plantscience.uconn.edu/la.html

Temple University, Ambler Campus http://www.temple.edu/ambler/la-hort


Landscape Design Programs

Columbia University http://www.ce.columbia.edu/masters/?PID=6

New York Botanical Garden http://www.nybg.org


General

Environmental Education http://www.enviroeducation.com/careers-jobs/#spec

Horticulture and Landscape Design Career Guide http://www.khake.com/page21.html


LOCAL HORTICULTURAL, ENVIRONMENTAL & BOTANICAL ORGANIZATIONS

Association of Professional Landscape Designers http://www.apld.org

Audubon, New York http://www.nycaudubon.org

Battery Park City Parks Conservancy. New York, NY http://www.bpcparks.org

Bayard Cutting Arboretum. Great River, NY http://www.bayardcuttingarboretum.com

Bronx Council for Environmental Quality http://www.bceg.org

Bronx Green-Up http://www.nybg.org/green_up

City Parks Foundation http://www.cityparksfoundation.org

Brooklyn Green Bridge http://www.bbg.org/edu/greenbridge

Central Park Conservancy http://www.centralparknyc.org

Cornell University - Cooperative Extension Offices

Council on the Environment of New York City http://www.cenyc.org

Frelinghuysen Arboretum. Morristown, NJ http://www.arboretumfriends.org

The Garden Conservancy http://www.gardenconservancy.org

Green Guerillas. New York, NY http://www.greenguerillas.org

Greenmarkets http://www.cenyc.org

Green Thumb. New York, NY http://www.greenthumbnyc.org

The Horticultural Society of New York http://www.hsny.org

Innisfree Garden. Millbrook, NY http://www.innisfreegarden.org

Institute of Ecosystems Studies. Millbrook, NY http://www.ecostudies.org

John P. Humes Japanese Stroll Garden. Mill Neck, NY http://www.locustvalley.com/japanese%20stroll%20garden.html

Lasdon Park & Arboretum. Katonah, NY http://www.lasdonpark.org/contact_us.html

Million Trees NYC http://www.milliontreesnyc.org

NYC CompostNYCCompost.org

NYC Friends of Clearwater http://www.nycfriendsofclearwater.org

Neighborhood Open Space Coalition http://www.treebranch.com

The New York Botanical Garden http://www.nybg.org

New York Restoration Project http://www.nyrp.org

Old Westbury Gardens. Old Westbury, NY http://www.oldwestburygardens.org

Planting Fields Arboretum. Upper Brookville, NY http://www.plantingfields.org

Presby Memorial Iris Gardens. Upper Montclair, NJ http://www.presbyirisgardens.org

Prospect Park Alliance. Brooklyn, NY http://www.prospectpark.org

Queens Botanical Garden http://www.queensbotanical.org

Reeves-Reed Arboretum. Summit, NJ http://www.reeves-reedarboretum.org

Rutgers New Jersey Agricultural Experimental Station Cooperative Extension http://www.njaes.rutgers.edu/extension/

Shorewalkers http://www.shorewalkers,org

Sierra Club http://www.sierraclub.org

Staten Island Botanical Garden http://www.sibg.org

Stonecrop Gardens. Cold Spring, NY http://www.stonecrop.org

Trees New York http://www.treesny.org

Trust for Public Land. New York, NY http://www.tpl.org

Wave Hill. Bronx, NY http://www.wavehill.org


NATIONAL/REGIONSL ORGANIZATIONS

American Association of Botanic Gardens and Arboreta http://www.aabga.org

American Horticultural Society http://www.ahs.org

American Horticultural Therapy Association http://www.anta.org

The American Institute of Floral Designers http://www.aifd.org

American Nursery & Landscape Association http://www.anla.org

The American Society of Botanical Artists http://www.AmSocBotArtists.org

American Society of Landscape Architects http://www.asla.org

Arbor Day Foundation http://www.arborday.org

International Society of Arboriculture http://www.isa-arbor.com

National Parks of New York Harbor http://www.nps.gov.npnh

National Parks Service http://www.nps.gov

National Phenology Network http://www.usanpn.org

The Garden Club of America http://www.gcamerica.org

The Guild of Natural Science Illustrators http://www.gnsi.org


CITY, STATE AND FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

Torrey Botanical Society http://www.torreybotanical.org

NYC Department of Parks and Recreation http://www.nycgovparks.org

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation http://www.dec.ny.gov

National Park Service http://www.nps.gov/personnel

NYC Department of Environmental Protection http://www.nycgovdep.org

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency http://www.epa.gov

U.S. Forest Service http://www.fs.fed.us/fsjobs