Plant Research and Conservation Experts at
The New York Botanical Garden

For The New York Botanical Garden’s scientists, this is an era of great urgency and great excitement—urgency because the race to discover, document, and conserve the world’s plants and fungi is so pressing, and excitement because of the depth and breadth of scientific questions that can be addressed now as never before, thanks to new and powerful research resources at our disposal.

The following list of plant research and conservation experts at the Botanical Garden is arranged by topic in order to be most helpful to editors, reporters, and writers. The Garden’s public-relations staff will be happy to arrange interviews with scientists or identify specific researchers who are best suited to address a topic not listed here.

Media inquiries should be directed to Science Media Manager Stevenson Swanson (sswanson@nybg.org; 718-817-8512) or the Public Relations office (pubrel@nybg.org; 718-817-8616).

Name

E-Mail Address

Phone Number


ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUES


Climate Change and its Impact on Plants

Dr. Robert Naczi rnaczi@nybg.org 718/817-8087

Conservation of Tropical Plants

Dr. Scott Mori smori@nybg.org 718/817-8629
Dr. Douglas Daly ddaly@nybg.org 718/817-8660
Dr. Wayne Law wlaw@nybg.org 718/817-8971

Conservation Analysis (GIS)

Dr. Wayne Law wlaw@nybg.org 718/817-8971

Endangered Species

Dr. Douglas Daly ddaly@nybg.org 718/817-8660 [Tropical Species]
Dr. Robert Naczi rnaczi@nybg.org 718/817-8087 [Native Northeastern U.S. Species]

Invasive Species

Dr. Robert Naczi rnaczi@nybg.org 718/817-8087
Ms. Jessica Arcate Schuler jarcate@nybg.org 718/817-8061
Mr. Todd Forrest tforrest@nybg.org 718/817-8043

Sustainable Use of Natural Resources and Forests

Dr. Charles Peters cpeters@nybg.org 718/817-8727
Dr. Douglas Daly ddaly@nybg.org 718/817-8660
Ms. Jessica Arcate Schuler jarcate@nybg.org 718/817-8061
Mr. Todd Forrest tforrest@nybg.org 718/817-8043

Tropical Deforestation

Dr. Scott Mori smori@nybg.org 718/817-8629
Dr. Douglas Daly ddaly@nybg.org 718/817-8660

Back to Top


HUMAN HEALTH AND AGRICULTURE


Natural Products Drug Discovery and Intellectual Property Issues

Dr. Michael Balick mbalick@nybg.org 718/817-8763

Medicinal and Poisonous Plants and Fungi

Dr. Michael Balick mbalick@nybg.org 718/817-8763 [Plants]
Dr. Roy Halling rhalling@nybg.org 718/817-8613 [Fungi]

Botanical Dietary Supplements

Dr. Michael Balick mbalick@nybg.org 718/817-8763
Dr. Damon Little dlittle@nybg.org 718/817-8521 [DNA barcoding of products]

Cultural Competency Training in Medicine

Dr. Ina Vandebroek ivandebroek@nybg.org 718/817-8941

Ethnobotany and Traditional Knowledge

Dr. Michael Balick mbalick@nybg.org 718/817-8763
Dr. Ina Vandebroek ivandebroek@nybg.org 718/817-8941

Food Plants

Dr. Michael Balick mbalick@nybg.org 718/817-8763

Back to Top


PLANT BIOLOGY


Plant Exploration

Dr. Douglas Daly ddaly@nybg.org 718/817-8660
Dr. Scott Mori smori@nybg.org 718/817-8629

Tree of Life/Phylogeny

Dr. Gregory Plunkett gplunkett@nybg.org 718/817-8179
Dr. Dennis Stevenson dws@nybg.org 718/817-8632
Dr. Kenneth Karol kkarol@nybg.org 718/817-8615

Evolution of Plants and Development of Flowers and Fruit

Dr. Dennis Stevenson dws@nybg.org 718/817-8632
Dr. Kenneth Karol kkarol@nybg.org 718/817-8615
Dr. Lawrence Kelly lkelly@nybg.org 718/817-8171
Dr. Amy Litt alitt@nybg.org 718/817-8161
Dr. Barbara Ambrose bambrose@nybg.org 718/817-8185

DNA Barcoding

Dr. Damon Little dlittle@nybg.org 718/817-8521

Genomics and Plant Gene Function

Dr. Amy Litt alitt@nybg.org 718/817-8161
Dr. Barbara Ambrose bambrose@nybg.org 718/817-8185
Dr. Dennis Stevenson dws@nybg.org 718/817-8632

Bioinformatics

Dr. Damon Little dlittle@nybg.org 718/817-8521

Computational Biology

Dr. Damon Little dlittle@nybg.org 718/817-8521

Biogeography

Dr. Douglas Daly ddaly@nybg.org 718/817-8660
Dr. William Wayt Thomas wthomas@nybg.org 718/817-8625

Montane Tropical Forests

Dr. Paola Pedraza ppedraza@nybg.org 718/817-8645

Pollination Biology

Dr. Scott Mori smori@nybg.org 718/817-8629

Neurobiology

Dr. Dennis Stevenson dws@nybg.org 718/817-8632

Back to Top


GENERAL SCIENCE ISSUES


Digitization and Use of Science Collections

Dr. Barbara Thiers bthiers@nybg.org 718/817-8622

History of Science

Dr. Dennis Stevenson dws@nybg.org 718/817-8632
Dr. Robbin Moran rmoran@nybg.org 718/817-8663

Science Education

Dr. Lawrence Kelly lkelly@nybg.org 718/817-8171 [Graduate education]

Back to Top


GEOGRAPHIC AREAS


NORTH AMERICA


U. S. (northeast)

Dr. Robert Naczi rnaczi@nybg.org 718/817-8087

U. S. (western)

Dr. Noel Holmgren nholmgren@nybg.org 718/817-8627
Dr. Patricia Holmgren pholmgren@nybg.org 718/817-8627

Back to Top


TROPICAL AMERICAS


Andean South America

Dr. Paola Pedraza ppedraza@nybg.org 718/817-8645

Belize

Dr. Michael Balick mbalick@nybg.org 718/817-8763
Dr. Robert Naczi rnaczi@nybg.org 718/817-8087

Bolivia

Dr. Ina Vandebroek ivandebroek@nybg.org 718/817-8941

Brazil

Dr. Douglas Daly ddaly@nybg.org 718/817-8660
Dr. William Wayt Thomas wthomas@nybg.org 718/817-8625
Dr. Scott Mori smori@nybg.org 718/817-8629

Caribbean

Dr. Brian Boom bboom@nybg.org 718/817-8708
Dr. Scott Mori smori@nybg.org 718/817-8629

Colombia

Dr. Paola Pedraza ppedraza@nybg.org 718/817-8645

Costa Rica

Dr. Robbin Moran rmoran@nybg.org 718/817-8663
Dr. Scott Mori smori@nybg.org 718/817-8629

French Guiana

Dr. Scott Mori smori@nybg.org 718/817-8629

Mexico

Dr. Lawrence Kelly lkelly@nybg.org 718/817-8171

Venezuela

Dr. Fabian Michelangeli fmichelangeli@nybg.org 718/817-8199

Back to Top


ASIA and PACIFIC


Australia

Dr. Roy Halling rhalling@nybg.org 718/817-8613

Pacific Islands

Dr. Michael Balick mbalick@nybg.org 718/817-8763
Dr. Gregory Plunkett gplunkett@nybg.org 718/817-8179
Dr. Wayne Law wlaw@nybg.org 718/817-8971

Southeast Asia (Vietnam and Myanmar)

Dr. Charles Peters cpeters@nybg.org 718/817-8727
Dr. Andrew Henderson ahenderson@nybg.org 718/817-8973

Back to Top


AFRICA


Madagascar

Dr. Douglas Daly ddaly@nybg.org 718/817-8660

Back to Top