Planet of A Press, Sunset, Stock Photo, Palm Tree, Research, Conservation

Research and Conservation Staff Directory

Distinguished Counsellors to the Board

Gloria Coruzzi, Ph.D.
New York University

Sir Peter Crane, Ph.D.
President, Oak Spring Garden Foundation

Rafaela Campostrini Forzza, Ph.D.
Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden

Sir Ghillian T. Prance, Ph.D.
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

Quentin D. Wheeler, Ph.D.
SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, Syracuse

Edward O. Wilson, Ph.D.
Harvard University

Curators Emeriti

Bill Buck, Ph.D.
bbuck@nybg.org

Noel Holmgren, Ph.D.
nholmgren@nybg.org

Patricia Holmgren, Ph.D.
pholmgren@nybg.org

Jacqueline Kallunki, Ph.D.
jkallunki@nybg.org

James Luteyn, Ph.D.

John Mickel, Ph.D.
jmickel@nybg.org

Scott Mori, Ph.D.
smori@nybg.org

Michael Nee, Ph.D.

Core NYBG Science Staff

Catherine Ahn
Herbarium Aide, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
cahn@nybg.org

Sheranza Alli
Herbarium Aide, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
salli@nybg.org

Barbara Ambrose, Ph.D.
Director of Laboratory Research; Associate Curator, Genomics
bambrose@nybg.org

Ginger Apolo
Project Coordinator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
gapolo@nybg.org

Kathleen Armstrong, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
karmstrong@nybg.org

Daniel Atha
Director of Conservation Outreach
datha@nybg.org

Michael Balick, Ph.D.
Vice President for Botanical Research, Senior Philecology Curator of Economic Botany, and Director of the Institute of Economic Botany
mbalick@nybg.org

Brian Boom, Ph.D.
Vice President for Conservation Strategy, Bassett Maguire Curator of Botany, and Director of the NYBG Press
bboom@nybg.org

Laura Briscoe
Collections Manager, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lbriscoe@nybg.org

Michael Brown
Production Editor, NYBG Press
mbrown@nybg.org

Douglas Daly, Ph.D.
B. A. Krukoff Curator of Amazonian Botany and Director, Institute of Systematic Botany
ddaly@nybg.org

Alisen Downey
Editorial Assistant, Institute of Systematic Botany
adowney@nybg.org

Sarah Dutton
Project Coordinator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
sdutton@nybg.org

Samantha Frangos
Laboratory Technician, Plant Research Laboratory
sfrangos@nybg.org

Lisa Fruscella
Steno/Secretary Associate II, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lfruscella@nybg.org

Roy Halling, Ph.D.
Curator of Mycology, Institute of Systematic Botany
rhalling@nybg.org

Sarah Hardy
Research Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
shardy@nybg.org

Andrew Henderson, Ph.D.
Abess Curator of Palms, Institute of Systematic Botany
ahenderson@nybg.org

Lance Jones
Research Assistant, Institute of Systematic Botany
ljones@nybg.org

Kenneth Karol, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics Studies
kkarol@nybg.org

Lawrence Kelly, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Science Administration; Director, Graduate Studies; Editor-in-chief, Flora Neotropica Monographs
lkelly@nybg.org

Elizabeth Kiernan
Laboratory Manager, Geographic Information Systems
ekiernan@nybg.org

Lucja Klebieko
Shipping Supervisor, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lklebieko@nybg.org

James Lendemer, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
jlendemer@nybg.org

Lin Li
Specimen Digitizer, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
llin@nybg.org

Damon Little, Ph.D.
Associate Curator of Bioinformatics, Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics Studies
dlittle@nybg.org

Carmen Maldonado
Steno/Secretary Associate I, Laboratory Science
cmaldonado@nybg.org

Leanna McMillin
Curatorial Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lmcmillin@nybg.org

Laura Meyer
Herbarium Aide, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lmeyer@nybg.org

Fabian Michelangeli, Ph.D.
Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
fabian@nybg.org

Robbin Moran, Ph.D.
Nathaniel Lord Britton Curator of Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany
rmoran@nybg.org

Robert Naczi, Ph.D.
Arthur J. Cronquist Curator of North American Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany
rnaczi@nybg.org

Matthew Pace, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
mpace@nybg.org

Charles Peters, Ph.D.
Kate E. Tode Curator of Economic Botany, Institute of Economic Botany
cpeters@nybg.org

Gregory Plunkett, Ph.D.
Director and Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Curator of Molecular Systematics Studies
gplunkett@nybg.org

Joel Ramirez
Web Programmer, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
jramirez@nybg.org

Edgardo Rivera
Senior Curatorial Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
erivera@nybg.org

Melissa Rossow
Customer Relations Manager, NYBG Press
mrossow@nybg.org

Meryl Rubin
Research Assistant, Center for Conservation Strategy
mrubin@nybg.org

Ana Maria Ruiz
Research Assistant, Institute of Systematic Botany
amruiz@nybg.org

Matthew Sewell
Laboratory Manager, Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics Studies
msewell@nybg.org

Tynisha Smalls
Laboratory Manager, Genomics
tsmalls@nybg.org

Dennis Stevenson, Ph.D.
Vice President and Cullman Senior Curator
dws@nybg.org

Jan Stevenson
Manager of Special Projects, NYBG Press and Science Outreach
jstevenson@nybg.org

Nicole Tarnowsky
Assistant Director, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
ntarnowsky@nybg.org

Barbara Thiers, Ph.D.
Vice President, Patricia K. Holmgren Director, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium, and Curator of Bryophytes
bthiers@nybg.org

Wayt Thomas, Ph.D.
Elizabeth G. Britton Curator of Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany
wthomas@nybg.org

Ben Torke, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany, Editor-in-chief, Brittonia
btorke@nybg.org

Melissa Tulig
Director of Biodiversity Information Management, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
mtulig@nybg.org

Ina Vandebroek, Ph.D.
Matthew Calbraith Perry Assistant Curator of Economic Botany, Institute of Economic Botany
ivandebroek@nybg.org

Lisa Vargues
Curatorial Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lvargues@nybg.org

Velezia Vasquez
Administrative Assistant, Institute of Economic Botany
vvaszuez@nybg.org

Regina Vitiello
Project Coordinator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
rvitiello@nybg.org

Kimberly Watson
Herbarium Information Manager for Digitization, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
kwatson@nybg.org

Amy Weiss
Collections Manager, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
aweiss@nybg.org

Charles Zimmerman
Herbarium Collections and Outreach Manager, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
czimmerman@nybg.org

Graduate Students

Naveed Davoodian
City University of New York
ndavoodian@nybg.org

Jenna Dorey
City University of New York
jdorey@nybg.org

Sarah Glass
Lehman College
sglass@nybg.org

Stephen Gottschalk
Fordham University
sgottschalk@nybg.org

Jordan Hoffman
City University of New York
jhoffman@nybg.org

Meredith Martin
Yale University
meredith.martin@yale.edu

Taylan Morcol
City University of New York

Lydia Paradiso
City University of New York
lparadiso@nybg.org

Kyra Prats
Yale Univesity
kyra.prats@yale.edu

Harikrishnan Radhamoni
Yale Univesity
harikrishnan.venugopalannairradhamoni@yale.edu

Carlos Rodrigues
City University of New York
crodrigues@nybg.org

Stephanie Schmiege
Columbia University
sschmiege@gmail.com

Robin Sleith
City University of New York
rsleith@nybg.org

Megan Sullivan
Yale Univesity
megan.sullivan@yale.edu

Lan Truong
City University of New York

Katherine Young
Yale University
katherine.young@yale.edu

Lily Zeng
Yale University
lily.zeng@yale.edu

Cecilia Zumajo
City University of New York
czumajo@nybg.org

Adjunct Scientists

Regina Alvarez, Ph.D.
Central Park Conservancy

Thomas Andres
The Cucurbit Network News

Mark Ashton, Ph.D.
Yale University
mark.ashton@yale.edu

David Baker, MD
SUNY Medical School at Stonybrook

Amy Berkov, Ph.D.
City College of New York
aberkov@ccny.cuny.edu

Graeme Berlyn, Ph.D.
Yale University
graeme.berlyn@yale.edu

Robert Bye, Ph.D.
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Lisa M. Campbell, Ph.D.
New York Botanical Garden

Angelica Cibrian-Jaramillo, Ph.D.
Centro de Investigaciones de Estudios Avanzado del IPN, México

Paul Cox, Ph.D.
Institute of Ethnomedicine

William Crepet, Ph.D.
Cornell University
wlc1@cornell.edu

Jerrold Davis, Ph.D.
Cornell University
jid1@cornell.edu

Wade Davis, Ph.D.
National Geographic Society

Michael Donoghue, Ph.D.
Yale University
michael.donoghue@yale.edu

Linda Saxe Einbond, Ph.D.
lseinbond@gmail.com

Paul Fine, Ph.D.
University of California, Berkeley

Fabiana Fonsêca, Ph.D.
Columbia University

Steven Franks, Ph.D.
Fordham University

Judith Garrison, Ph.D.
The New York Botanical Garden

Carol Gracie
The New York Botanical Garden

John Hall, Ph.D.
Norton Brown Herbarium, University of Maryland

Elysa Hammond
Clif Bar & Co.

Richard Harris, Ph.D.
The New York Botanical Garden

Flor Henderson, Ph.D.
Hostos Community College

Vivian Irish, Ph.D.
Yale University

Edward Kennelly, Ph.D.
Lehman College

Steven King, Ph.D.
Napo Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Stergios-Orestis Kolokotronis
SUNY Downstate Medical Center School of Public Health
sok@downstate.edu

Wayne Law
wlaw@nybg.org

Paulo Labiak, Ph.D.
Universidade Federal do Parana, Brazil 

Roberta Lee, MD
Beth Israel Medical Center

James David Lewis, Ph.D.
Fordham University

Tatyana Lobova, Ph.D.
Old Dominion University

David Lorence, Ph.D.
National Tropical Botanical Garden, Hawaii

Santiago Madriñan, Ph.D.
Universidad de los Andes, Colombia

Cameron McNeil, Ph.D.
Lehman College

John Mitchell
The New York Botanical Garden

Shahid Naeem, Ph.D.
Columbia University

Kevin C. Nixon, Ph.D.
Cornell University
kcn2@cornell.edu

Aline Oriani, Ph.D.
Universidade Estadual Paulista, Sao Paulo, Brazil 

Andreana Ososki, Ph.D.
Humboldt State University

Natalia Pabón Mora, Ph.D.
Universidad de Antioquia
lucia.pabon@udea.edu.co

Caroline Mary Pannell, Ph.D.
University of Oxford

Paola Pedraza, Ph.D.
The New York Botanical Garden

Susan Pell, Ph.D.
United States Botanic Garden

C. Thomas Philbrick, Ph.D.
Western Connecticut State University

Jose Pirani, Ph.D.
Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil 

Holly Porter-Morgan, Ph.D.
LaGuardia Community College

Jefferson Prado, Ph.D.
Instituto de Botanica, Brazil 

Joseph Rachlin, Ph.D.
Lehman College

Diane Ragone, Ph.D.
National Tropical Botanical Garden, Hawaii

Marcelo Reginato, Ph.D.
Universidade Estadual de Campinas (Unicamp), Brazil

Martin Ricker, Ph.D.
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Guy Robinson, Ph.D.
Fordham University

Christian Samper, Ph.D.
Wildlife Conservation Society

Carlos Sanchez, Ph.D.
Jardín Botánico Nacional, Cuba

Giovana Serino, Ph.D.
La Sapienza University, Italy 

Marcos Silveira
Universidade Federal do Acre, Brazil

Lena Struwe, Ph.D.
Rutgers University

Ramona Walls, Ph.D.
iPlants, University of Arizona

John Wehr, Ph.D.
Fordham University

Andrew Weil, MD
University of Arizona, College of Medicine 

Eleanore Wurtzel, Ph.D.
Lehman College

Thomas Zanoni
tzanoni@nybg.org

LuEsther T. Mertz Library Staff

Gina Baldwin
Digital Imaging Technician
gbaldwin@nybg.org

Rashad Bell
Collections Maintenance Associate
rbell@nybg.org

Madeline Byrne
Book Purchasing Clerk
mbyrne@nybg.org

Leslie Coleman
Library Assistant – Plant Information
lcoleman@nybg.org

Samantha D’Acunto
Reference Librarian
sdacunto@nybg.org

Stacey DiFazio
Transcription Coordinator
sdifazio@nybg.org

Anita Finkle-Guerrero
Plant Information Specialist
afinkle@nybg.org

Susan Fraser
Thomas J. Hubbard Vice President and Director
sfraser@nybg.org

Joanna Groarke
Director of Public Engagement and Library Exhibitions Curator
jgroarke@nybg.org

Sally Hagy-Boyer
Library Associate
shagy-boyer@nybg.org

Takako Hara
Museum Registrar
thara@nybg.org

Lenge Hong
Project Cataloger/E-Resource Librarian
lhong@nybg.org

Esther Jackson
Public Services Librarian
ejackson@nybg.org

Susan Lynch
Systems, Digitization, and Web Services Librarian
slynch@nybg.org

Olga Marder
Conservation Librarian/Conservator
omarder@nybg.org

Laura McKinney
Administrative Assistant
lmckinney@nybg.org

Kelsey Miller
Conservator
kmiller@nybg.org

Vanessa Sellers
Coordinator, Humanities Institute
vsellers@nybg.org

Stephen Sinon
William B. O’Connor Curator of Special Collections, Research and Archives
ssinon@nybg.org

Lisa Studier
Catalog Librarian
lstudier@nybg.org

Donald Wheeler
Collection Development/Technical Services Librarian
dwheeler@nybg.org