View of amazon top of trees at sunset

Research and Conservation Staff Directory

Distinguished Counsellors to the Board

Gloria Coruzzi, Ph.D.
New York University

Sir Peter Crane, Ph.D.
President, Oak Spring Garden Foundation

Rafaela Campostrini Forzza, Ph.D.
Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden

Sir Ghillian T. Prance, Ph.D.
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

Quentin D. Wheeler, Ph.D.
SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, Syracuse

Edward O. Wilson, Ph.D.
Harvard University

Curators Emeriti

Brian Boom, Ph.D.
bboom@nybg.org

Bill Buck, Ph.D.
bbuck@nybg.org

Susan Fraser
Director Emerita, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
sfraser@nybg.org

Roy Halling, Ph.D.
rhalling@nybg.org

Andrew Henderson, Ph.D.
ahenderson@nybg.org

Noel Holmgren, Ph.D.
nholmgren@nybg.org

Patricia Holmgren, Ph.D.
pholmgren@nybg.org

Jacqueline Kallunki, Ph.D.
jkallunki@nybg.org

James Luteyn, Ph.D.

John Mickel, Ph.D.
jmickel@nybg.org

Robbin Moran, Ph.D.
rmoran@nybg.org

Michael Nee, Ph.D.

Christine Padoch, Ph.D.
cpadoch@nybg.org

Charles Peters, Ph.D.
cpeters@nybg.org

Dennis Stevenson, Ph.D.
dws@nybg.org

Wayt Thomas, Ph.D.
wthomas@nybg.org

Core NYBG Science Staff

Catherine Ahn
Herbarium Aide, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
cahn@nybg.org

Barbara Ambrose, Ph.D.
Director of Laboratory Research; Associate Curator, Genomics
bambrose@nybg.org

Ginger Apolo
Curatorial Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
gapolo@nybg.org

Kathleen Armstrong, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
karmstrong@nybg.org

Michael Balick, Ph.D.
Vice President for Botanical Research, Senior Philecology Curator of Economic Botany, and Director of the Institute of Economic Botany
mbalick@nybg.org

Laura Briscoe
Collections Manager, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lbriscoe@nybg.org

Douglas Daly, Ph.D.
B. A. Krukoff Curator of Amazonian Botany and Director, Institute of Systematic Botany
ddaly@nybg.org

Sarah Dutton
Project Coordinator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
sdutton@nybg.org

Lisa Fruscella
Steno/Secretary Associate II, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lfruscella@nybg.org

Elizabeth Gjieli
Laboratory Manager, Geographic Information Systems
ekjieli@nybg.org

Sarah Hardy
Research Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
shardy@nybg.org

Kenneth Karol, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics Studies
kkarol@nybg.org

Lawrence Kelly, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Science Administration; Director, Graduate Studies; Editor-in-chief, Flora Neotropica Monographs
lkelly@nybg.org

Lucja Klebieko
Shipping Supervisor, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lklebieko@nybg.org

James Lendemer, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
jlendemer@nybg.org

Lin Li
Project Coordinator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
llin@nybg.org

Damon Little, Ph.D.
Associate Curator of Bioinformatics, Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics Studies
dlittle@nybg.org

Carmen Maldonado
Steno/Secretary Associate I, Laboratory Science
cmaldonado@nybg.org

Leanna McMillin
Curatorial Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lmcmillin@nybg.org

Fabian Michelangeli, Ph.D.
Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
fabian@nybg.org

Robert Naczi, Ph.D.
Arthur J. Cronquist Curator of North American Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany
rnaczi@nybg.org

Matthew Pace, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
mpace@nybg.org

Gregory Plunkett, Ph.D.
Director and Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Curator of Molecular Systematics Studies
gplunkett@nybg.org

Joel Ramirez
Web Programmer, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
jramirez@nybg.org

Edgardo Rivera
Senior Curatorial Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
erivera@nybg.org

Tynisha Smalls
Laboratory Manager, Genomics
tsmalls@nybg.org

Nicole Tarnowsky
Assistant Director, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
ntarnowsky@nybg.org

Barbara Thiers, Ph.D.
Vice President, Patricia K. Holmgren Director, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium, and Curator of Bryophytes
bthiers@nybg.org

Ben Torke, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany, Editor-in-chief, Brittonia
btorke@nybg.org

Ina Vandebroek, Ph.D.
Matthew Calbraith Perry Assistant Curator of Economic Botany, Institute of Economic Botany
ivandebroek@nybg.org

Lisa Vargues
Curatorial Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lvargues@nybg.org

Veliza Vasquez
Administrative Assistant, Institute of Economic Botany
vvaszuez@nybg.org

Regina Vitiello
Project Coordinator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
rvitiello@nybg.org

Kimberly Watson
Director of Biodiversity Information Management, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
kwatson@nybg.org

Amy Weiss
Collections Manager, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
aweiss@nybg.org

Charles Zimmerman
Herbarium Collections and Outreach Manager, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
czimmerman@nybg.org

Graduate Students

Laura Boggess
City University of New York
lboggess@nybg.org

Aleca Borsuk
Yale University
aleca.borsuk@nybg.org

Sarah Glass
Lehman College
sglass@nybg.org

Stephen Gottschalk
Fordham University
sgottschalk@nybg.org

Jordan Hoffman
City University of New York
jhoffman@nybg.org

Kathryn Mercier
City University of New York
kmercier@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Taylan Morcol
City University of New York

Lydia Paradiso
City University of New York
lparadiso@nybg.org

Kyra Prats
Yale Univesity
kyra.prats@yale.edu

Natalia Quinteros
City University of New York
natalia.l.quinteros.c@gmail.com

Harikrishnan Radhamoni
Yale Univesity
harikrishnan.venugopalannairradhamoni@yale.edu

Stephanie Schmiege
Columbia University
sschmiege@gmail.com

Megan Sullivan
Yale Univesity
megan.sullivan@yale.edu

Lan Truong
City University of New York

Ella Vardeman
City University of New York
evardeman@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Simon Verlynde
City University of New York
sverlynde@nybg.org

Elisabeth Ward
Yale Univesity
elisabeth.ward@yale.edu

Cecilia Zumajo
City University of New York
czumajo@nybg.org

LuEsther T. Mertz Library Staff

Rashad Bell
Collections Maintenance Associate
rbell@nybg.org

Leslie Coleman
Library Assistant – Plant Information
lcoleman@nybg.org

Samantha D’Acunto
Reference Librarian
sdacunto@nybg.org

Anita Finkle-Guerrero
Plant Information Specialist
afinkle@nybg.org

Sally Hagy-Boyer
Library Associate
shagy-boyer@nybg.org

Lenge Hong
Project Cataloger/E-Resource Librarian
lhong@nybg.org

Susan Lynch
Systems, Digitization, and Web Services Librarian
slynch@nybg.org

Olga Marder
Conservation Librarian/Conservator
omarder@nybg.org

Laura McKinney
Administrative Assistant
lmckinney@nybg.org

Kelsey Miller
Conservator
kmiller@nybg.org

Vanessa Sellers
Coordinator, Humanities Institute
vsellers@nybg.org

Stephen Sinon
William B. O’Connor Curator of Special Collections, Research and Archives
ssinon@nybg.org

Lisa Studier
Catalog Librarian
lstudier@nybg.org