Planet of A Press, Sunset, Stock Photo, Palm Tree, Research, Conservation

Science and Conservation Staff Directory

Distingushed Counsellors to the Board

Gloria Coruzzi, Ph.D.
Distinguished Counsellor to the Board
New York University

Sir Peter Crane, Ph.D.
Distinguished Counsellor to the Board
President, Oak Spring Garden Foundation

Rafaela Campostrini Forzza, Ph.D.
Distinguished Counsellor to the Board
Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden

Sir Ghillian T. Prance, Ph.D.
Distinguished Counsellor to the Board
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

Quentin D. Wheeler, Ph.D.
Distinguished Counsellor to the Board
SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, Syracuse

E. O. Wilson, Ph.D.
Distinguished Counsellor to the Board
Harvard University

Curators Emereti

Bill Buck, Ph.D.
Curator Emeritus, Institute of Systematic Botany
bbuck@nybg.org

Noel Holmgren, Ph.D.
Curator Emeritus
The New York Botanical Garden
nholmgren@nybg.org

Patricia Holmgren, Ph.D.
Curator Emeritus
The New York Botanical Garden
pholmgren@nybg.org

Jacqueline Kallunki, Ph.D.
Curator Emeritus
The New York Botanical Garden
jkallunki@nybg.org

James Luteyn, Ph.D.
Curator Emeritus
The New York Botanical Garden

John Mickel, Ph.D.
Curator Emeritus
The New York Botanical Garden
jmickel@nybg.org

Scott Mori, Ph.D.
Curator Emeritus
The New York Botanical Garden
smori@nybg.org

Michael Nee, Ph.D.
Curator Emeritus
The New York Botanical Garden

Core NYBG Science Staff

Catherine Ahn
Herbarium Aide, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
cahn@nybg.org

Sheranza Alli
Herbarium Aide, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
salli@nybg.org

Barbara Ambrose, Ph.D.
Director of Laboratory Research; Associate Curator, Genomics
bambrose@nybg.org

Ginger Apolo
Project Coordinator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
gapolo@nybg.org

Kathleen Armstrong, Ph.D.
Post Doctoral Research Associate, Institute of Systematic Botany
karmstrong@nybg.org

Daniel Atha
Conservation Program Manager
datha@nybg.org

Michael Balick, Ph.D.
Vice President for Botanical Research, Senior Philecology Curator of Economic Botany, and Director of the Institute of Economic Botany
mbalick@nybg.org

Brian Boom, Ph.D.
Vice President for Conservation Strategy; Director, NYBG Press and Science Outreach
bboom@nybg.org

Laura Briscoe
Collections Manager, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lbriscoe@nybg.org

Michael Brown
Production Editor, NYBG Press
mbrown@nybg.org

Douglas Daly, Ph.D.
B. A. Krukoff Curator of Amazonian Botany and Director, Institute of Systematic Botany
ddaly@nybg.org

Alisen Downey
Editorial Assistant, Institute of Systematic Botany
adowney@nybg.org

Sarah Dutton
Project Coordinator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
sdutton@nybg.org

Samantha Frangos
Laboratory Technician, Plant Research Laboratory
sfrangos@nybg.org

Lisa Fruscella
Steno/Secretary Associate II, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lfruscella@nybg.org

Roy Halling, Ph.D.
Curator of Mycology, Institute of Systematic Botany
rhalling@nybg.org

Sarah Hardy
Research Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
shardy@nybg.org

Andrew Henderson, Ph.D.
Abess Curator of Palms, Institute of Systematic Botany
ahenderson@nybg.org

Lance Jones
Research Assistant, Institute of Systematic Botany
ljones@nybg.org

Kenneth Karol, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics Studies
kkarol@nybg.org

Lawrence Kelly, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President of Science Administration; Director, Graduate Studies; Editor-in-chief, Flora Neotropica Monographs
lkelly@nybg.org

Elizabeth Kiernan
Laboratory Manager, Geographic Information Systems
ekiernan@nybg.org

Lucja Klebieko
Shipping Supervisor, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lklebieko@nybg.org

James Lendemer, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
jlendemer@nybg.org

Lin Li
Specimen Digitizer, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
llin@nybg.org

Damon Little, Ph.D.
Associate Curator of Bioinformatics, Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics Studies
dlittle@nybg.org

Carmen Maldonado
Steno/Secretary Associate I, Laboratory Science
cmaldonado@nybg.org

Leanna McMillin
Curatorial Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lmcmillin@nybg.org

Laura Meyer
Herbarium Aide, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lmeyer@nybg.org

Fabian Michelangeli, Ph.D.
Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
fabian@nybg.org

Robbin Moran, Ph.D.
Nathaniel Lord Britton Curator of Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany
rmoran@nybg.org

Robert Naczi, Ph.D.
Arthur J. Cronquist Curator of North American Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany
rnaczi@nybg.org

Matthew Pace,Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
mpace@nybg.org

Charles Peters, Ph.D.
Kate E. Tode Curator of Economic Botany, Institute of Economic Botany
cpeters@nybg.org

Gregory Plunkett, Ph.D.
Director and Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Curator of Molecular Systematics Studies
gplunkett@nybg.org

Joel Ramirez
Web Programmer, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
jramirez@nybg.org

Edgardo Rivera
Senior Curatorial Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
erivera@nybg.org

Melissa Rossow
Customer Relations Manager, NYBG Press
mrossow@nybg.org

Meryl Rubin
Research Assistant, Center for Conservation Strategy
mrubin@nybg.org

Ana Maria Ruiz
Research Assistant, Institute of Systematic Botany
amruiz@nybg.org

Matthew Sewell
Laboratory Manager, Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics Studies
msewell@nybg.org

Tynisha Smalls
Laboratory Manager, Genomics
tsmalls@nybg.org

Dennis Stevenson, Ph.D.
Cullman Vice President and Senior Curator
dws@nybg.org

Jan Stevenson
Manager of Special Projects, NYBG Press and Science Outreach
jstevenson@nybg.org

Nicole Tarnowsky
Assistant Director, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
ntarnowsky@nybg.org

Barbara Thiers, Ph.D.
Patricia K. Holmgren Director, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium and Vice President of Science Administration
bthiers@nybg.org

Wayt Thomas, Ph.D.
Elizabeth G. Britton Curator of Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany
wthomas@nybg.org

Ben Torke, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany, Editor-in-chief, Brittonia
btorke@nybg.org

Melissa Tulig
Director of Biodiversity Information Management, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
mtulig@nybg.org

Ina Vandebroek, Ph.D.
Matthew Calbraith Perry Assistant Curator of Economic Botany, Institute of Economic Botany
ivandebroek@nybg.org

Lisa Vargues
Curatorial Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lvargues@nybg.org

Velezia Vasquez
Administrative Assistant, Institute of Economic Botany
vvaszuez@nybg.org

Regina Vitiello
Project Coordinator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
rvitiello@nybg.org

Kimberly Watson
Herbarium Information Manager for Digitization, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
kwatson@nybg.org

Amy Weiss
Collections Manager, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
aweiss@nybg.org

Charles Zimmerman
Herbarium Collections and Outreach Manager, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
czimmerman@nybg.org

Graduate Students

Naveed Davoodian
Graduate Student
City University of New York
ndavoodian@nybg.org

Jenna Dorey
Graduate Student
City University of New York
jdorey@nybg.org

Sarah Glass
Graduate Student
Lehman College
sglass@nybg.org

Stephen Gottschalk
Graduate Student
Fordham University
sgottschalk@nybg.org

Jordan Hoffman
Graduate Student
City University of New York
jhoffman@nybg.org

Meredith Martin
Graduate Student
Yale University
meredith.martin@yale.edu

Taylan Morcol
Graduate Student
City University of New York

Lydia Paradiso
Graduate Student
City University of New York
lparadiso@nybg.org

Kyra Prats
Graduate Student
Yale Univesity
kyra.prats@yale.edu

Harikrishnan Radhamoni
Graduate Student
Yale Univesity
harikrishnan.venugopalannairradhamoni@yale.edu

Carlos Rodrigues
Graduate Student
City University of New York
crodrigues@nybg.org

Stephanie Schmiege
Graduate Student
Columbia University
sschmiege@gmail.com

Robin Sleith
Graduate Student
City University of New York
rsleith@nybg.org

Megan Sullivan
Graduate Student
Yale Univesity
megan.sullivan@yale.edu

Lan Truong
Graduate Student
City University of New York

Katherine Young
Graduate Student
Yale University
katherine.young@yale.edu

Lily Zeng
Graduate Student
Yale University
lily.zeng@yale.edu

Cecilia Zumajo
Graduate Student
City University of New York
czumajo@nybg.org

Adjunct Scientists

Regina Alvarez, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Central Park Conservancy

Thomas Andres
Adjunct Scientist
The Cucurbit Network News

Mark Ashton, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Yale University
mark.ashton@yale.edu

David Baker, MD
Adjunct Scientist
SUNY Medical School at Stonybrook

Amy Berkov, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
City College of New York
aberkov@ccny.cuny.edu

Graeme Berlyn, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Yale University
graeme.berlyn@yale.edu

Robert Bye, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Lisa M. Campbell, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
New York Botanical Garden

Angelica Cibrian-Jaramillo, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Centro de Investigaciones de Estudios Avanzado del IPN, México

Paul Cox, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Institute of Ethnomedicine

William Crepet, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Cornell University
wlc1@cornell.edu

Jerrold Davis, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Cornell University
jid1@cornell.edu

Wade Davis, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
National Geographic Society

Michael Donoghue, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Yale University
michael.donoghue@yale.edu

Linda Saxe Einbond, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
lseinbond@gmail.com

Paul Fine, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
University of California, Berkeley

Fabiana Fonsêca, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Columbia University

Steven Franks, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Fordham University

Judith Garrison, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
The New York Botanical Garden

Carol Gracie
Adjunct Scientist
The New York Botanical Garden

John Hall, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Norton Brown Herbarium, University of Maryland

Elysa Hammond
Adjunct Scientist
Clif Bar & Co.

Richard Harris, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
The New York Botanical Garden

Flor Henderson, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Hostos Community College

Vivian Irish, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Yale University

Edward Kennelly, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Lehman College

Steven King, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Napo Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Stergios-Orestis Kolokotronis
SUNY Downstate Medical Center School of Public Health
sok@downstate.edu

Wayne Law
Adjunct Scientist
wlaw@nybg.org

Paulo Labiak, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Universidade Federal do Parana, Brazil 

Roberta Lee, MD
Adjunct Scientist
Beth Israel Medical Center

James David Lewis, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Fordham University

Tatyana Lobova, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Old Dominion University

David Lorence, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
National Tropical Botanical Garden, Hawaii

Santiago Madriñan, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Universidad de los Andes, Colombia

Cameron McNeil, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Lehman College

John Mitchell
Adjunct Scientist
The New York Botanical Garden

Shahid Naeem, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Columbia University

Kevin C. Nixon, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Cornell University
kcn2@cornell.edu

Aline Oriani, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Universidade Estadual Paulista, Sao Paulo, Brazil 

Andreana Ososki, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Humboldt State University

Natalia Pabón Mora, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Universidad de Antioquia
lucia.pabon@udea.edu.co

Caroline Mary Pannell, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
University of Oxford

Paola Pedraza, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
The New York Botanical Garden

Susan Pell, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
United States Botanic Garden

C. Thomas Philbrick, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Western Connecticut State University

Jose Pirani, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil 

Holly Porter-Morgan, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
LaGuardia Community College

Jefferson Prado, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Instituto de Botanica, Brazil 

Joseph Rachlin, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Lehman College

Diane Ragone, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
National Tropical Botanical Garden, Hawaii

Marcelo Reginato, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Universidade Estadual de Campinas (Unicamp), Brazil

Martin Ricker, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Guy Robinson, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Fordham University

Christian Samper, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Wildlife Conservation Society

Carlos Sanchez, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Jardín Botánico Nacional, Cuba

Giovana Serino, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
La Sapienza University, Italy 

Marcos Silveira
Adjunct Scientist
 Universidade Federal do Acre, Brazil

Lena Struwe, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Rutgers University

Ramona Walls, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
iPlants, University of Arizona

John Wehr, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Fordham University

Andrew Weil, MD
Adjunct Scientist
University of Arizona, College of Medicine 

Eleanore Wurtzel, Ph.D.
Adjunct Scientist
Lehman College

Thomas Zanoni
Adjunct Scientist, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
tzanoni@nybg.org

LuEsther T. Mertz Library Staff

Gina Baldwin
Digital Imaging Technician, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
gbaldwin@nybg.org

Rashad Bell
Collections Maintenance Associate, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
rbell@nybg.org

Madeline Byrne
Book Purchasing Clerk, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
mbyrne@nybg.org

Leslie Coleman
Library Assistant – Plant Information, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
lcoleman@nybg.org

Samantha D’Acunto
Reference Librarian, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
sdacunto@nybg.org

Linda Devito
Steno/Secretary Associate II, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
ldevito@nybg.org

Stacey DiFazio
Transcription Coordinator, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
sdifazio@nybg.org

Anita Finkle-Guerrero
Plant Information Specialist, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
afinkle@nybg.org

Susan Fraser
Thomas J. Hubbard Vice President and Director, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
sfraser@nybg.org

Joanna Groarke
Director of Public Engagement and Library Exhibitions Curator, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
jgroarke@nybg.org

Sally Hagy-Boyer
Library Associate, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
shagy-boyer@nybg.org

Takako Hara
Museum Registrar, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
thara@nybg.org

Lenge Hong
Project Cataloger/E-Resource Librarian, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
lhong@nybg.org

Esther Jackson
Public Services Librarian, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
ejackson@nybg.org

Susan Lynch
Systems, Digitization, and Web Services Librarian, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
slynch@nybg.org

Olga Marder
Conservation Librarian/Conservator, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
omarder@nybg.org

Kelsey Miller
Conservator, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
kmiller@nybg.org

Vanessa Sellers
Coordinator, Humanities Institute, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
vsellers@nybg.org

Stephen Sinon
William B. O’Connor Curator of Special Collections, Research and Archives, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
ssinon@nybg.org

Lisa Studier
Catalog Librarian, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
lstudier@nybg.org

Donald Wheeler
Collection Development/Technical Services Librarian, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
dwheeler@nybg.org