View of amazon top of trees at sunset

Research and Conservation Staff Directory

Distinguished Counsellors to the Board

Gloria Coruzzi, Ph.D.
New York University

Sir Peter Crane, Ph.D.
President, Oak Spring Garden Foundation

Rafaela Campostrini Forzza, Ph.D.
Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden

Sir Ghillian T. Prance, Ph.D.
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

Quentin D. Wheeler, Ph.D.
SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, Syracuse

Edward O. Wilson, Ph.D.
Harvard University

Curators Emeriti

Brian Boom, Ph.D.
bboom@nybg.org

Bill Buck, Ph.D.
bbuck@nybg.org

Susan Fraser
Director Emerita, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
sfraser@nybg.org

Roy Halling, Ph.D.
rhalling@nybg.org

Andrew Henderson, Ph.D.
ahenderson@nybg.org

Noel Holmgren, Ph.D.
nholmgren@nybg.org

Patricia Holmgren, Ph.D.
pholmgren@nybg.org

Jacqueline Kallunki, Ph.D.
jkallunki@nybg.org

James Luteyn, Ph.D.

John Mickel, Ph.D.
jmickel@nybg.org

Robbin Moran, Ph.D.
rmoran@nybg.org

Michael Nee, Ph.D.

Christine Padoch, Ph.D.
cpadoch@nybg.org

Charles Peters, Ph.D.
cpeters@nybg.org

Dennis Stevenson, Ph.D.
dws@nybg.org

Wayt Thomas, Ph.D.
wthomas@nybg.org

Barbara Thiers, Ph.D
bthiers@nybg.org

Core NYBG Science Staff

Barbara Ambrose, Ph.D.
Director of Laboratory Research; Associate Curator, Genomics
bambrose@nybg.org

Ginger Apolo
Curatorial Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
gapolo@nybg.org

Joao Araujo, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
jaraujo@nybg.org

Kathleen Armstrong, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
karmstrong@nybg.org

Michael Balick, Ph.D.
Vice President for Botanical Research, Senior Philecology Curator of Economic Botany, and Director of the Institute of Economic Botany
mbalick@nybg.org

Laura Briscoe
Assistant Director of the Herbarium for the Cryptogamic Herbarium, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lbriscoe@nybg.org

Kelcie Brown
Curatorial Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
kbrown@nybg.org

Amanda Chandler
Lead Digitizer, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
achandler@nybg.org

LeeAnn Dabydeen
Laboratory Manager, Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics
ldabydeen@nybg.org

Leo-Paul Dagallier, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Associate, Institute of Systematic Botany
ldagallier@nybg.org

Douglas Daly, Ph.D.
B. A. Krukoff Curator of Amazonian Botany and Director, Institute of Systematic Botany
ddaly@nybg.org

Victoria Davis
Lab Technician, Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics
vdavis@nybg.org

Eli Denzer
Project Coordinator, Institute of Systematic Botany
edenzer@nybg.org

Mauricio Diazgranados, Ph.D.
Chief Science Officer and Dean, International Plant Science Center
mdiazgranados@nybg.org

Niroshini Epitawalage, Ph.D.
Lab Technician
nepitawalage@nybg.org

Adelin Figueroa
Steno/Secretary Associate II
afigueroa@nybg.org

Amy Fuller
Lead Digitizer, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
afuller@nybg.org

Elizabeth Gjieli
Geographical Information Manager, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
egjieli@nybg.org

Morgan Halane, Ph.D.
Laboratory Technician
mhalane@nybg.org

Kenneth Karol, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics Studies
kkarol@nybg.org

Lawrence Kelly, Ph.D.
Vice President for Science Administration; Director, Graduate Studies; Editor-in-Chief, Flora Neotropica Monographs
lkelly@nybg.org

Lucja Klebieko
Shipping Supervisor, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lklebieko@nybg.org

Lisa Lall
Secretary, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
llall@nybg.org

James Lendemer, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
jlendemer@nybg.org

Damon Little, Ph.D.
Associate Curator of Bioinformatics, Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics
dlittle@nybg.org

Tallia Maglione
Herbarium Aide, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
tmaglione@nybg.org

Alex McAlvay, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, Institute of Economic Botany
amcalvay@nybg.org

Leanna McMillin
Herbarium Digital Asset Manager, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
lmcmillin@nybg.org

Fabian Michelangeli, Ph.D.
Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany
fabian@nybg.org

Robert Naczi, Ph.D.
Arthur J. Cronquist Curator of North American Botany, Institute of Systematic Botany
rnaczi@nybg.org

Brad Oberle, Ph.D.
Associate Curator
boberle@nybg.org

Matthew Pace, Ph.D.
Assistant Curator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
mpace@nybg.org

John Park, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Associate, Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics
jpark@nybg.org

Gregory Plunkett, Ph.D.
Director and Lewis B. and Dorothy Cullman Curator of Molecular Systematics Studies
gplunkett@nybg.org

Joel Ramirez
Web Developer for Biodiversity Information Management, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
jramirez@nybg.org

Wilson Ramos
Herbarium Shipping Clerk, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
wramos@nybg.org

Stephanie Ramos-Bierge, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Associate, Institute of Economic Botany

Hannah Ratcliff
Laboratory Technician, Genomics Program
hratcliff@nybg.org

Edgardo Rivera
Senior Curatorial Assistant, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
erivera@nybg.org

Lucy Royte
Research Assistant, Urban Conservation
lroyte@nybg.org

Nelson Salinas, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Associate, Cullman Program for Molecular Systematics
nsalinas@nybg.org

Eric Sanderson, Ph.D.
Vice President for Urban Conservation Strategy
esanderson@nybg.org

Emily Sessa, Ph.D.
Patricia K. Holmgren Director, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
esessa@nybg.org

Tynisha Smalls
Laboratory Manager, Genomics
tsmalls@nybg.org

Nicole Tarnowsky
Assistant Director, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
ntarnowsky@nybg.org

Benjamin Torke, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany, Editor-in-Chief, Brittonia
btorke@nybg.org

Veliza Vasquez
Administrative Assistant, Institute of Economic Botany
vvasquez@nybg.org

Emily Vicioso
Collections and Data Coordinator, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
evicioso@nybg.org

Kenneth Walker
Project Manager, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
krwalker@nybg.org

Han Wang
Lead Digitizer, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
hwang@nybg.org

Kimberly Watson
Assistant Director of the Herbarium for Botanical Information Management, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
kwatson@nybg.org

Kayla Wheatley
Project Assistant, Institute of Economic Botany
kwheatley@nybg.org

Amy Weiss
Collections Manager, William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
aweiss@nybg.org

Graduate Students

Juan Angulo
City University of New York
jangulo@nybg.org

Lauren Audi
New York University
la2376@nyu.edu

Fabio Andres Avila
City University of New York
favila@nybg.org

Laura Boggess
City University of New York
lboggess@nybg.org

Aleca Borsuk
Yale University
aleca.borsuk@nybg.org

Arun Dayanandan
Yale University
arun.dayanandan@nybg.org

Manuel Flores
Yale University
manuel.flores@yale.edu

Stephen Gottschalk
Fordham University
sgottschalk@nybg.org

Sergio Guzman
City University of New York
sguzman@nybg.org

Toni Johnson
City University of New York
tleejonson11@gmail.com

Kathryn Mercier
City University of New York
kmercier@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Lydia Paradiso
City University of New York
lparadiso@nybg.org

Natalia Quinteros
City University of New York
natalia.l.quinteros.c@gmail.com

Amani Rodriguez
Columbia University (Master’s program)
amanilrz@gmail.com

Karam Sheban
Yale University
karam.sheban@yale.edu

Veronica Sondervan
New York University
vms351@nyu.edu

Elissa Sorojsrisom
Columbia University
ess2239@columbia.edu

Akshay Surendra
Yale University
akshay.surendra@yale.edu

Alma Trujillo
Yale University
alma.trujillo@yale.edu

Ella Vardeman
City University of New York
evardeman@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Simon Verlynde
City University of New York
sverlynde@nybg.org

David Woodbury
Yale University
david.woodbury@yale.edu

Marco Zanghi
Columbia University
mzanghi55@gmail.com

LuEsther T. Mertz Library Staff

Christina Clarke
Administrative Coordinator
cclarke@nybg.org

Leslie Coleman
Library Assistant – Plant Information
lcoleman@nybg.org

Samantha D’Acunto
Reference Librarian
sdacunto@nybg.org

Rhonda Evans
Director, LuEsther T. Mertz Library
revans@nybg.org

Anita Finkle-Guerrero
Plant Information Specialist
afinkle@nybg.org

Emma Hodgson
Library Associate
ehodgson@nybg.org

Olga Marder
Conservation Librarian/Conservator
omarder@nybg.org

Althea Meer
Systems Librarian
ameer@nybg.org

Kelsey Miller
Conservator
kmiller@nybg.org

Rose Octelene
Resource Sharing Librarian
rocetelene@nybg.org

Kristine Paulus
Collection Development Librarian
kpaulus@nybg.org

Zachary Rosalinsky
Special Collections Catalog Librarian
zrosalinsky@nybg.org

Stephen Sinon
William B. O’Connor Curator of Special Collections, Research and Archives
ssinon@nybg.org

Lisa Studier
Catalog Librarian
lstudier@nybg.org

Shea Wert
User Services Librarian
swert@nybg.org

Elizabeth White
Conservation Technician
ewhite-pultz@nybg.org

Affiliated Scientists

Bobbi Angell
Botanical Illustration
bangell@nybg.org

Robert Bye, Ph.D.
Ethnobotany
Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico
bye.robert@gmail.com

Ricardo Callejas, Ph.D.
Systematics of Piperaceae, Flora of Colombia
Universidad de Antioquia
callejas542004@yahoo.com

Paul Cox, Ph.D.
Ethnobotany
Institute of Ethnomedicine, Jackson Hole WY
paul_cox@comcast.net

Wade Davis, Ph.D.
Ethnobotany
National Geographic Society
daviswade@aol.com

Linda Einbond, Ph.D.
Pharmacology and phytochemsitry
lseinbond@gmail.com

Paul Fine, Ph.D.
Burseraceae
University of California, Berkeley
paulfine@berkeley.edu

David K. Harrison, Ph.D.
Linguistics and anthropology
Vin University, Vietnam
David.h@vinuni.edu.vn

Flor Henderson, Ph.D.
Food and nutrition
Hostos Community College
flor.henderson1@gmail.com

Edward Kennelly, Ph.D.
Phytochemistry
Lehman College
edward.kennelly@lehman.cuny.edu

Paulo Labiak, Ph.D.
Fern systematics
Universidade Federal do Parana, Brazil
plabiak@ufpr.br

Fiona Yu Yin Law, Ph.D.
Remote Sensing, Artificial Intelligence
fiona.law@mail.mcgill.ca

Wayne Law, Ph.D.
Ethnobotany
Lynn University, Florida
wlaw@nybg.org

Lucia Lohman, Ph.D.
Bignoniaceae
Universidade de São Paulo
llohmann@usp.br

David Lorence, Ph.D.
Pacific Island Floristics
National Tropical Botanical Garden
lorence@ntbg.org

Maria Cristina Martinez-Habibe, Ph.D.
Burseraceae, Flora of Colombia
Universidad del Norte, Barranquilla, Colombia
crishabibe@gmail.com

Antoine Nicolas, Ph.D.
Angiosperm systematics
Manhattan College
anicolas01@manhattan.edu

Paola Pedraza, Ph.D.
Ericaceae
ppedraza@nybg.org

Lauren Raz, Ph.D.
Dioscoreaceae, Flora of Colombia
Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Colombia
lraz.icn@gmail.com

Michael Tessler, Ph.D.
Phylogenomics
St. Francis College
mtessler@sfc.edu

Thet Yu Nwe
Myanmar Pteridophytes
thetyunwe.74@gmail.com

Eleanor Wurtzel, Ph.D.
Plant molecular biology
Lehman College
ELEANORE.WURTZEL@lehman.cuny.edu

Thomas Zanoni, Ph.D.
Cupressaceae, Flora of the Caribbean
New York Botanical Garden
tzanoni@nybg.org